The Company Reports Collection, 1946-2010
The Company reports collection contains approximately 700 annual reports and Form 10-K filings from approximately sixty corporations (and several non-profit organizations) either headquartered in Idaho or with a significant business presence in the state. Most reports are dated in the 1970s, 80s, and 90s. The companies reflect both the traditional natural resource-based economy of Idaho (mining, agriculture, and forest products) as well as new technologies developed in the latter half of the 20th century. Home-grown companies such as Boise Cascade and Potlatch (forest products), Hecla Mining Company (precious metals), Idaho Power (electricity), J.R. Simplot Company (agricultural products), and Micron Technology (semiconductors) are represented; so are national business giants that had their beginnings in Idaho, like Albertson's (a grocery chain) and Morrison-Knudsen (an international construction and engineering firm). Also included are some firms headquartered out of state but with a significant Idaho presence, such as Hewlett-Packard (which established its printer division in Boise in 1973) and regional banks and telecommunications companies that serve the state. A few national firms that acquired Idaho-based companies, such as H.J. Heinz (which bought the Ore-Ida brand of food products) and the Gannett Company (owner of Boise's daily newspaper, the Idaho Statesman) are also represented. Reports from national retail firms (Sears, K-Mart, etc.) are not included in the collection.
The annual reports vary greatly from company to company in terms of detail. Some contain extensive financial and statistical information; others are more in the form of narrative summaries of the year's activities. The Form 10-K filings are financial reports filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Most annual reports coincide with the calendar year, but a few cover July-June fiscal years. The early reports from Albertson's covered a fiscal year running from February through January.
Most of these reports were obtained on a yearly or occasional basis directly from the companies themselves and were part of a large collection of reports from several thousand companies nationwide. They were originally housed in the Library's Reference Department and used mainly by business and graphic arts students. By 2005 the use of the printed reports had so diminished (because of their availability on the Internet), that the collecting program was discontinued. Reports from Idaho and Idaho-related companies were transferred to the Special Collections Department for permanent retention. New reports are occasionally added to the collection as acquired.
Companies and other organizations represented by reports are listed below in alphabetical order, with the exception of mining companies, which are listed separately at the end. The reports are housed with Special Collections' serials, in boxes 300 through 358 of the department's serials collection.
Listing of companies and other organizations
Ada County Highway District. Box 300
Annual report. 1993, 1995, 1997
Albertson's Inc. Boxes 301-303
Annual report. 1974, 1977, 1978-1981, 1983-2004
Form 10-K. 1980-1983, 1988, 1991-2002, 2004
Blue Cross of Idaho. Box 304
Annual report. 1972, 1974-1978, 1980, 1981, 1983-1988, 1990-1993, 1996-2002, 2004, 2006, 2009
History of Blue Cross of Idaho (3 p.)
BMC West Corporation. Box 305
Annual report. 1995
Continued by BMHC
BMHC. Box 305
Annual report. 2001, 2002, 2004
Preceded by BMC West
Boise. Box 307
Annual report. 2001
Preceded by Boise Cascade Corporation
Boise Area Chamber of Commerce. Box 300
Annual report. 1992, 1994
Boise Cascade Corporation. Boxes 306-309
Annual report. 1971-1994, 1996, 1997, 2001
Form 10-K. 1974, 1990, 1996
Statistical information. 1977-1979, 1981, 1982, 1985
Financial Information Seminar. 1970.
Continued by Boise
Browning Ferris Industries. Box 310
Annual report. 1990-1992, 1996, 1997
Form 10-K. 1990, 1991, 1996
Extended Systems. Box 300
Annual report. 1998
First Interstate Bancorp (First Interstate Bank). Box 341
Annual report. 1986-1988, 1990-1995
Form 10-K. 1992
Continued by KeyCorp
First Security Corporation (First Security Bank). Box 343
Annual report. 1969, 1970, 1972-1976, 1986-1998
Form 10-K. 1989 (with annual report), 199-1993
Continued by Wells, Fargo & Company
Gannett Company (owner of Idaho Statesman). Box 311
Annual report. 1986, 1989-2004
Group One. Box 311
Annual report. 2006
H.J. Heinz Company (owner of Ore-Ida brand). Box 312
Annual report. 1995-1999, 2005
Form 10-K. 1995-1999
Preceded by Ore-Ida Foods
Hewlett-Packard Company. Boxes 313-315
Annual report. 1975-1993, 1995, 1997, 1998, 2000- 2002
Form 10-K. 1979-1986, 2000, 2004
IDACORP. Boxes 318-319
Annual report. 1999-2004
Form 10-K. 1998-2002, 2004
Preceded by Idaho Power Company
Idaho Bank and Trust. Box 340
Annual report. 1986
Continued by First Interstate Bank
Idaho Community Foundation. Box 320
Annual report. 1990, 1992, 1995-2000, 2002, 2003, 2005-2010
Idaho Company, The. Box 321
Annual report. 1989-1992
Idaho First National Bank. Box 346
Annual report. 1959-1964, 1967, 1968, 1970-1974, 1978, 1979
Continued by Moore Financial Group
Idaho Hospital Association. Box 300
Annual report. 1985/86, 1989/90
Idaho Housing and Finance Association. Box 321
Annual report. 1996-2002
Idaho Humanities Council. Box 322
Annual report. 1997-2009
Idaho Industrial Commission. Box 300
Annual report. 1987, 1991, 1995
Idaho Power Company. Boxes 316-317
Annual report. 1970-1998
Form 10-K. 1978-1993, 1995-1997
Continued by IDACORP
Idaho Statesman see Gannett Company
Idaho Youth Ranch. Box 300
Annual report. 2001
Information and Referral Service. Box 300
Annual report. 1974/75, 1975/76
Intermountain Gas Company / Intermountain Gas Industries. Box 323
Annual report. 1961, 1973, 1974, 1976-1983
Form 10-K. 1980, 1981
J.R. Simplot Company. Box 336
Annual report. 1964, 196?, 1970, 1972, 1974-1976, 1978, 1982, 1985
KeyCorp (Key Bank). Box 342
Annual report. 1989-1992, 1994-2001
Form 10-K. 1989-1992 (with annual reports), 1997-2000
Preceded by First Interstate Bank
Mercy Medical Center. Box 300
Annual reports (Mercy Today). 1982-1985
Micron Technology Corporation. Boxes 324-325
Annual report. 1984, 1986-1989, 1993-1995, 1997-2002, 2004, 2005
Form 10-K. 1984, 1986-1989, 1991-1993, 1996-1997, 2000-2002, 2004-2006
Moore Financial Group (Idaho First National Bank). Box 340
Annual report. 1986, 1988
Form 10-K. 1988
Preceded by Idaho First National Bank; continued by West One Bancorp
Morrison-Knudsen Company / Morrison-Knudsen Corporation. Boxes 326-327
Annual report. 1946-1994, 1996-1999
Form 10-K. 1974, 1982, 1983, 1990-1992, 1995-1997
Continued by Washington Group International
Mountain Bell (Mountain States Telephone and Telegraph Company). Box 329
Annual report. 1969-1975, 1984
Form 10-K. 1984
Continued by U S West
Mountain States Tumor and Medical Research Institute. Box 331
Annual report. 2000-2004
Ore-Ida Foods. Box 312
Annual report. 1989
Continued by H.J. Heinz Company
Peregrine Fund / World Center for Birds of Prey. Box 332
Annual report. 1996-2009
Potlatch Corporation. Boxes 333-334
Annual report. 1975, 1976, 1985-1996, 1998, 2000
Form 10-K. 1986-1993
Qwest Communications International. Box 330
Annual report. 2000, 2001, 2004, 2005, 2007
Preceded by U S West
St. Luke's Regional Medical Center. Box 335
Annual report. 1990, 2004-2007, 2009
Simplot Company see J.R. Simplot Company
TJ International. Box 337
Annual report. 1988, 1990-1998
Form 10-K. 1995, 1996, 1999
Preceded by Trus Joist Corporation
Trus Joist Corporation. Box 337
Annual report. 1972-1974, 1976, 1986
Continued by TJ International
Union Pacific Corporation. Box 339
Annual report. 1970, 1973-1976, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996, 1999-2001
Form 10-K. 1975, 1976
U.S. Bancorp (U.S. Bank). Boxes 348-349
Annual report. 1970, 1976, 1986-1999, 2001-2003
Form 10-K. 1995-1999 (with annual reports), 2001-2003 (with annual reports)
Preceded by West One Bankcorp
U S West. Box 329
Annual report. 1995-1996
Preceded by Mountain Bell; continued by Qwest Communications International
Washington Group International. Box 328
Annual report. 2004
Preceded by Morrison-Knudsen Corporation
Wells, Fargo & Company (Wells Fargo Bank). Boxes 344-345
Annual report. 1993, 1994, 1998-2000, 2004, 2005
Form 10-K. 1998, 1999, 2005
Preceded by First Security Corporation
West One Bancorp (West One Bank). Box 347
Annual report. 1989-1994
Fork 10-K. 1990-1994
Continued by U.S. Bancorp
Weyerhaeuser Company. Box 338
Annual report. 1975, 1986-2005
Form 10-K. 1988, 1998
Zions Bancorporation (Zions Bank). Boxes 350-351
Annual report. 1990, 1992, 1994-1999, 2003, 2004, 2009
Form 10-K. 1992-1998
Mining companies
Allied Silver-Lead Company. Box 352
Form 10-K. 1991, 1992
Callahan Mining Corporation. Box 353
Annual report. 1989, 1990
Coeur d'Alene Mines Corporation. Boxes 354, 355
Annual report. 1979, 1984, 1988-1996, 1999-2001
Form 10-K. 1984, 1989, 1990, 1994-1997, 2001 (with annual report)
Consolidated Sliver Corporation. Boxes 356-357
Annual report. 1990
Form 10-K. 1990
Day Mines, Inc. Box 353
Annual report. 1973
Hecla Mining Company. Boxes 356-357
Annual report. 1973-1976, 19889-2000, 2005-2007
Form 10-K. 1989-1993
Idora Silver Mines, Inc. Box 352
Form 10-K. 1989, 1991
Independence Lead Mines. Box 352
Form 10-K. 1989, 1991
Metropolitan Mines Corporation. Box 352
Form 10-K. 1989, 1992
Silver Butte Mining Company. Box 352
Form 10-K. 1989
Silver Dollar Mining Company. Box 353
Annual report. 1989
Sunshine Mining and Refining (Sunshine Mine). Box 358
Annual report. 1968, 1970-1977, 1980, 1981, 1984, 1986, 1988-1998
Form 10-K. 1982, 1994, 1996

