|
| |
Social
Science Research Assistance
Ask a Librarian
There are a variety of ways to get help from a librarian. You can come see us in
person, call us, email us, or chat with us via our new online answerXpress
service.
- Visit the Library
Between the Business Building and Hemingway Center, we encourage you to come
to the library and talk to a librarian in person.
- Call Us
You are welcome to call a reference librarian at 208 426-3301.
- Email Us
We invite you to email us at
refquest@boisestate.edu. A
reference librarian will reply to your email within 24 hours, Monday-Friday.
- answerXpress
Live, online help from librarians is now available to the Boise State
community 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from your computer through our
www.answerXpress.com service.

Article Indexes & Databases
All databases are available both on
campus and remotely, unless otherwise indicated. You will need to supply your
BroncoWeb ID and password to access these resources off campus.
For the electronic databases go to
http://library.boisestate.edu/indexes
and scroll to the alphabetic entry location. For the Print
indexes ask at the Reference Desk, for assistance with either style ask for
assistance at the Reference Desk.
- Abstracts in Social Gerontology
(previous title: Current Literature on Aging)
Sponsored by the National Council on Aging, this index is unique in its
focus on aging. Beginning in 1963, it is published quarterly and bound in
annual volumes, which can be found in the Library's Reference Room on Index
shelf #101A. Full text of articles listed here can be accessed only via the
online journals list, which may not include every title indexed here.
-
Alternative Press
Index (online, paper)
Indexes journals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic,
political and social change. Online indexing begins with 1991. Older issues
(1969-2002) are housed in the general circulation
stacks under AI3 A27.
-
America History and
Life (online)
Primarily an index to historical literature, AH&L also accesses many journal
articles relating to the social sciences.
-
Contemporary Women’s
Issues (online, full text)
Online index which
includes full-text articles for most of the sources listed, both periodical
and non-periodical. Sources date from 1992-current. An excellent source for
material on women beyond the western world, especially those elusive reports
from the NGO's and private agencies that serve them.
- Human Resources
Abstracts: an International Information Service (Previous title: Poverty
& Human Resources Abstracts)
Beginning in 1966, this indexing and abstracting service calls itself "a
comprehensive source of information relating to the problems our cities and
nation." Issued quarterly, this paper index (found on Index shelf #101A)
provides only brief summaries of articles, many of which may be accessed via
the online journal list.
-
Ingenta
(online, full text for sale)
Indexes articles in scholarly journals in all subjects. It claims to have
“the most comprehensive collection of academic and professional periodicals”
available. Copies of many of the articles
are available directly from the publisher for a
fee.
-
OCLC First Search
(online)
Indexes over 4,000 scholarly journals in all subject areas. Indexing begins
with 1995 and is updated daily.
-
PAIS: Public Affairs
Information Service (online, paper)
Indexes selected books, government documents and journal articles relating
to public affairs. Indexing begins with 1972 and is updated monthly. The
early bound volumes of this publication can be found in the general
circulation stacks under H1 P9.
-
Population Index
Intended to cover the world's demographic and population literature,
including books and approximately 400 journals. Issued quarterly, and
shelved in bound volumes on Index shelf #101A. Provides only brief summaries
of book and article contents. To find out whether the Library owns titles
abstracted here, look in Voyager and/or the Library's online journal list.
-
Project Muse
(online, full text)
Indexes over 100 full-text electronic journals in various disciplines. Some
coverage goes back to 1993.
-
ProQuest Digital
Dissertations (online, full text)
Indexes doctoral dissertations and master's theses from over 1,000 colleges
and universities worldwide. Full text of most
dissertations written within the past five or six years can be accessed
through the free download option.
-
Social Sciences Citation Index
An essential reference tool for those in the social sciences, this
covers the contents of over 1700 journals in the social sciences. It has
four parts: (1) the Citation Index, which tells who has cited which works;
(2) a corporate index, which indicates
who is affiliated with which institutions; (3) a source index, which
provides a full citation for each work; and (4) a the permuterm subject
index, to terms that appear within the title and
subtitle of each work. Older issues in paper are
shelved in the general circulation stacks under
index H1 S6.
- Social Sciences Index (paper)
Classic author and subject index to over 550 basic English-language social
science periodicals that have been published since 1974. Each volume has a
book review section in the back. Reference
Department Index shelves #101A
-
Sociological abstracts
- Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts.
Paper index to articles on women and gender in many academic and
scholarly periodicals. BSU owns v. 5 (1987)-date. Index shelf #101B.
- Women Studies Abstracts.
Paper index to many feminist and women's periodicals, from 1971-date. The
only index covering the women's movement literature from the 70's and
forward. Index shelf #101B.
-
WorldCat (All subjects)
Also Useful

Periodicals
To
determine the library's holdings for each of the following publications, click
on the journal title, and then enter the journal name in the search box.
The titles listed below are examples of
interdisciplinary or general social sciences journals. For journals devoted to a
specific discipline, see the Subject Guides under Sociology, Criminal Justice,
Anthropology, History, Political Science, Psychology, Gender Studies, etc.
Subjects in italics after each journal title are represented in that title
fairly frequently.
-
American Behavioral Science
Political
Science, History, Education, Sociology, Psychology, Public Affairs, Gender
Studies
-
American Journal of Economics and Sociology
Economics, Sociology, Political
Science, History, Business, Social Work, Gender Studies
-
Annals of the American Academy of Political and
Social Science Political Science,
Economics, History, Literature
-
Behavioral Science
Psychology, Management, Political Science,
Computer Science, Medicine, Literature
-
Brookings Review
Public Affairs, Policy Sciences, Economics
-
Bulletin International des Sciences … see
International Social Science Bulletin
-
Comparative Studies in Society and History
Political Science, History, Social
Work, Sociology
-
Congressional Quarterly’s Editorial Research
Reports Sociology, Social Welfare,
Social Problems, Criminal Justice, Economics
-
Cross-Cultural Research
Behavioral Sciences, Anthropology
-
Daedalus: Proceedings of the American Academy of
Arts and Sciences Sciences, Social
Sciences, Humanities, Art, Political Science, Public Affairs, Social
Welfare, History, Psychology, Sciences
-
Good Society
Political Science, Economics, Social Science, Political Science
-
Human Behavior
Social Science, Psychology
-
Human Relations
Social Science, Management, Health Sciences,
Labor, Psychology, Social Work, Social Welfare, Gender Studies
-
Independent Review
Social Science, Political Science, Economics
-
International Social Science Bulletin
Social Sciences, History
-
International Social Science Journal
Sociology, Political Science, History,
Education, Literature, Public Affairs, Social Work, Gender Studies
-
International Journal of Social Economics
Social Sciences, Economics
-
International Review for Social Sciences, see
Kyklos: internationale zeitschrift fur sozialwissenschaften
-
Journal of Applied Behavioral Science
Social Science, Political Science, Social
Work & Social Welfare, Sociology, Health Science, Psychology, Management
-
Journal of the History of the Behavioral
Sciences Psychology, History, Social
Welfare, Health Sciences, Psychology, Life Sciences, Sociology, Energy
Research
-
Journal of Public Policy
Policy Sciences, Social Sciences
-
Kyklos: internationale zeitschrift fur
Sozialwissenschaften Social Sciences,
History, Language, Economics, Labor, Public Affairs
-
Man and the Future of Organizations
Social Sciences
-
National Council for the Social Studies, see
Yearbook - National Council for the Social Studies.
-
New Scholar: a Journal of Graduate Studies in
the Social Sciences History,
Literature, Sociology, Political Science, Psychology, Education
-
New Statesman
Social Sciences, Literature
-
New Statesman & Society, New Statesman Society
Social Sciences, Social Conditions
-
Philosophy & Public Affairs
Social Sciences, Social History, Political
Science, Energy & Environment, Philosophy, Social work and Welfare,
Sociology, Gender Issues
-
Policy Studies Journal: the Journal of the
Policy Studies Organization History,
Sociology, Social Welfare, Social Planning/Policy/Development, Energy &
Environment, Political Science.
-
Policy Studies Review
Policy Sciences, Public Affairs, Social
Sciences, History, Energy & Environment, Sociology, Social Welfare,
Education, Human Resources
-
Political Quarterly
Political Science, Social Sciences, History
-
Political Research, Organization & Design
Political Science, Social Sciences
-
Political Science Quarterly
Social Sciences, Economics Political Science,
History
-
Politics & Society
Social Sciences, Political Science, History
-
Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and
Sciences Science, Social Science,
Humanities
-
Public Interest
Social Sciences, Business & Management,
Political Science, History, Energy & Environment, Public Affairs, Sociology,
Social Planning/Policy/Development and Welfare
-
Public Policy
Political Science, Social Sciences, History,
Economics, Public Affairs
-
Queen’s Quarterly
Social Sciences, Humanities, History,
Sociology, Public Affairs, Social Welfare, Great Britain
-
Reason
Social Sciences, Social History, Environment & Energy
-
Review of Policy Research
Policy Sciences, Social Sciences, Social
Planning. History, Education, Criminal Justice, Sociology, Energy
-
Rocky Mountain
Social Science Journal Social Sciences
-
Salmagundi
Social Sciences, Humanities
-
Science & Society
Social Sciences, Energy & Environment, History,
Economics, Public Affairs, Social Welfare/Planning/Policy/Development,
Sociology, Gender Studies, Political Science
-
Social Research
Social Sciences, Economics, Political Science,
Public Affairs, History, Social Welfare/Planning/Policy & Development,
Sociology
-
Social Science Journal
History, Social Welfare/Planning/Policy
Development,, Public Affairs, Sociology
-
Social Science History
History, Sociology, Social
Welfare/Planning/Policy/Development, Social Work
-
Social Science Quarterly
Gender Studies, Statistics, Economics, Political
Science, Sociology
-
Social Sciences
Social Sciences, History
-
Social Theory and Practice
Social Sciences, History, Social
Welfare/Planning/Policy/Development, Sociology, Philosophy, Criminal
Justice, Education, Language
-
Society
Political Science, History, Art, Energy & Environment, Medicine, Sociology,
Gender Studies, Social Welfare/Planning/Policy/Development
-
Southwestern Social Science Quarterly
Social Sciences, Political Science,
Literature Continued as Social Science Quarterly
-
Systems Research and Behavioral Science
Social Sciences, Psychology, System Theory
-
Telos: a Quarterly Journal of Radical Social
Theory Social Sciences, Philosophy,
Sociology
-
Theory, Culture & Society
Social Sciences, Critical Theory, Philosophy,
Sociology, Postmodernism, Poststructuralism
-
Trans-action
Social Sciences, Social Conditions, Medicine,
Economics
-
Trans-action and Society, see Trans-action
-
Yale Review
Social Sciences, History, Language &
Literature, Public Affairs
-
Yearbook - National
Council for the Social Studies

Reference Books
This subject guide deals with
the literature of the social sciences generally. The titles listed here are
interdisciplinary in scope. For lists of reference books in specific
disciplines, see the separate subject guides for those disciplines, e.g.
anthropology,
communication,
criminal justice,
gender/women’s studies,
psychology,
sociology.
Unless otherwise indicated, the titles listed here are all housed in the
Reference Department.
- Atlas of Poverty in
America: One Nation Pulling Apart, 1960-2003
In her introduction, author Amy Glasmeier explains her intent to provide an
historical and contemporary account of economic opportunity - or lack
thereof -- in the U.S. during recent decades, and describes the various ways
in which poverty is defined and measured. Each brief essay followed by
easy-to-read charts and graphs (necessarily limited to data from the 2000
Census and before) on topics such as poverty basics and lived experiences,
poverty history, impoverished regions, and the history of poverty policy. A
list of sources and an index conclude the book.
ref HC110 P6 G543 2006
- Blackwell Dictionary
of Modern Social Thought
ref H41 B53 2003
- Dictionary of
Statistics and Methodology: a non-technical guide for the social sciences
Now in its third edition, this publication defines both statistical and
methodological terms used in the social and behavioral sciences. The
definitions are supposed to be accessible to "educated general readers." The
book explains concepts, but does not attempt to describe how to do the
calculations.
ref HA 17 V64 2005
- Dictionary of the
Social Sciences
ref H41 D53 2002
- Encyclopedia of
Religion and Society
ref BL60 E53 1998
- Handbook of Interview
Research: Context and Method
ref H6128 H36 2002
- International
Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences, 25 v.
ref H41 I58 2001
- Linguistic Cultures of
the World: a Statistical Reference
ref P35 P29 1997
- Reader’s Guide to the
Social Sciences, 2v.
ref H41 R43 2001
- Researching Society
and Culture
ref HM24 R439 1998
- Sage Dictionary of
Social Science Research Methods
In his introduction, the editor
explains that concepts presented here have been selected on the basis of six
key themes: philosophy of science; research paradigms; research design; data
collection; issues to be considered when conducting research; and finally,
the role of research in terms of function. He also notes that individual
entries are encyclopedic in nature, making the work less like dictionary
than an encyclopedia. Each article provides a definition, a discussion of
distinctive features, a brief paragraph on evaluation; a list of associated
concepts, and a very brief list of relevant readings. Author and subject
index in the back.
ref H62 S274 2006
- Sage Encyclopedia of
Social Science Research Methods, 3.v.
ref H62 L456 2004
- Statistical Portrait
of the United States/ Social Change in America: the Historical Handbook
ref HA 203S63
- Social Science
Encyclopedia, 2nd ed.
ref H41 S63 1996
- Social Sciences
Reference Sources: a practical guide, 3rd ed.
ref H61 L5 2000
- Statistical Abstract
of the United States
ref HA 202 (at reference desk) or online at:
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS2878
- World of Ideas: a
dictionary of important theories, concepts, beliefs and thinkers
ref B41 R64 1999

Web Resources

|