|
| |
Sociology Research Assistance
Ask a Librarian
There are a variety of ways to get help from a librarian. You can come see us in
person, call us, email us, or chat with us via our new online answerXpress
service.
- Visit the Library
Between the Business Building and Hemingway Center, we encourage you to come
to the library and talk to a librarian in person.
- Call Us
You are welcome to call a reference librarian at 208 426-3301.
- Email Us
We invite you to email us at
refquest@boisestate.edu. A
reference librarian will reply to your email within 24 hours, Monday-Friday.
- answerXpress
Live, online help from librarians is now available to the Boise State
community 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from your computer through our
www.answerXpress.com service.

Article Indexes & Databases
All databases are available both on
campus and remotely, unless otherwise indicated. You will need to supply your
BroncoWeb ID and password to access these resources off campus.
Also Useful

Periodicals
To
determine the library's holdings for each of the following publications, click
on the journal title, and then enter the journal name in the search box.
-
AJS, see American Journal of Sociology
-
ASR, see American Sociological Review
-
American Catholic Sociological Review
-
American Journal of Economics and
Sociology
-
American Journal of Sociology
-
American Sociological Review
-
American Sociologist
-
Annual Review of Sociology
-
Armed Forces and Society
-
Canadian Journal of Sociology
-
Comparative Sociology
-
Contemporary Sociology
-
Current Perspectives in Social Theory
-
Current Sociology
-
Critical Sociology (formerly Insurgent
Sociologist)
-
Editorial Research Reports, see
Congressional Quarterly's Editorial Research Reports
-
Free Inquiry
-
Free Inquiry in Creative Sociology
-
ERR, see Congressional Quarterly's
Editorial Research Reports
-
Insurgent Sociologist
-
International Journal of Comparative
Sociology
-
International Journal of Sociology and
Social Policy
-
Javnost=The Public
-
JCE, see Journal of Contemporary
Ethnography
-
Journal of Contemporary Ethnography
-
Journal of Educational Sociology
-
Journal of Occupational Behaviour
-
Journal of Organizational Behavior
-
Journal of Social Work in Disability &
Rehabilitation
-
Journal of Sociology and Social Welfare
-
Knowledge and Society, Studies in the
Sociology of Culture Past and Present
-
Pacific Sociological Review
-
Political Behavior
-
Public, see Javnost
-
Qualitative Sociology
-
Research in Politics and Society
-
Research in Sociology of Education and
Socialization
-
Research in Sociology of Knowledge,
Sciences, and Art
-
Research in the Sociology of Work
-
Review of Religious Research
-
Revue Canadienne de Sociologie et
d'Anthropologie, see Canadian Review of Sociology and Anthropology
-
Rural Sociology
-
SA: Sociological Analysis
-
SQ, see Sociological Quarterly
-
Social Epistemology
-
Society
-
Sociological Analysis, see SA
-
Sociological Inquiry
-
Sociological Methodology
-
Sociological Methods and Research
-
Sociological Perspectives: SP
-
Sociological Practice
-
Sociological Quarterly
-
Sociological Review
-
Sociological Theory
-
Sociologie Contemporaine, see Current
Sociology
-
Sociology and Social Research
-
Sociology of Education
-
Sociology of Religion
-
SP, see Sociological Perspectives:
official publication of the Pacific
Sociological Association
-
Teaching Sociology
-
Theory and Society
-
Trans-Action
-
Urban Life
-
Urban Life and Culture

Reference Books
The following books are
located in the reference section of the library and are useful for providing
brief, introductory information on a given topic. For more detailed
information, go to the
Library's catalog or to the
Library's Indexes to Journals and Databases.
- ASA Style Guide, 2nd
ed.
ref HM 73 A83 1997
- Blackwell Companion to
Major Social Theorists
ref HM478 B583 2000
- Blackwell Companion to
Medical Sociology
ref RA418 B5736 2001
- Blackwell Companion to
Social Theory
ref H61 B4773 1996
- Blackwell Companion to
Pollitical Sociology
ref JA76 B58 2000
- Blackwell Companion to
the Sociology of Families
HQ519 B53 2004
- Blackwell Encyclopedia
of Social Psychology
ref HM 251 B476 1995
- Critical Dictionary of
Sociology
ref HM 17 B6813 1989
- Cultural Theory: the
Key concepts
ref HM621 .K49 2002
- Dictionary of Cultural
and Critical Theory
ref HM 101 D527 1996
- Dictionary of Medical
Sociology
RA 418 C655 1997 (4th floor stacks)
- Education and
Sociology: an encyclopedia
ref LC189.95 E38 2002
- Encyclopedia of Social
Theory, 2v.
ref HM 425 E47 2005
- Encyclopedia of
Sociology, 2nd ed. 5v.
ref HM425 E5 2000
- Handbook of Economic
Sociology
ref HM 35 H25 1994
- Handbook of Economic
Sociology, 2nd ed.
ref HM548 H25 2005
- International
Bibliography of Sociology
ref Z7161 I594
- International Handbook
of Sociology
HM585 I57 2000 (3rd floor stacks)
- International
Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Education, 1st ed.
ref LC191 .I49 1997
- Key Contemporary
Concepts: from Abjection to Zeno’s Paradox
ref HM 425 L43 2003
- Penguin Dictionary of
Sociology
ref HM 17 A23 1994
- Sociology: a Guide to
Reference and Information Sources.
HM585 A24 2005 (3rd floor stacks)

Web Resources
-
Good Sites for
Sociologists on the Internet
All of these come from schools and colleges,
virtually all of them from the UK and Europe.
-
Resources for
Sociology: Research, Writing, Grad School and Such
-
Select Websites for
Sociology
Offers two full-text sociology dictionaries, links to important
organizations and associations, sources of statistics, research datasets,
and other resources. Also links to all the sociology departments in the
U.S..
-
Social Sciences:
Sociology: Useful Internet Links Another international subject guide
-
Sociological Tour
Through Cyberspace
Includes general sociological sources, sociological theory, data resources
and useful web tools, and a guide to writing a sociology research paper.
-
Sociology Department at Boise State
-
Statistical Sources on
the Web: Sociology
From the University of Michigan Documents Center. Lists comprehensive and
international resources, as well as those devoted to topics such as
adoption, aging, child abuse, day care, children generally, crime (both U.S.
and international), entitlements & grants, ethnicity, families, gambling,
homelessness, immigration, language, religion, sexual behavior and sites of
many non-profit organizations.

|