|
| |
Paralegal
Studies Research Assistance
Ask a Librarian
There are a variety of ways to get help from a librarian. You can come see us in
person, call us, email us, or chat with us via our new online answerXpress
service.
- Visit the Library
Between the Business Building and Hemingway Center, we encourage you to come
to the library and talk to a librarian in person.
- Call Us
You are welcome to call a reference librarian at 208 426-3301.
- Email Us
We invite you to email us at
refquest@boisestate.edu. A
reference librarian will reply to your email within 24 hours, Monday-Friday.
- answerXpress
Live, online help from librarians is now available to the Boise State
community 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from your computer through our
www.answerXpress.com service.

Article Indexes & Databases
All databases are available both on
campus and remotely, unless otherwise indicated. You will need to supply your
BroncoWeb ID and password to access these resources off campus.
On the
BSU Library’s home page one
can click on the heading “article indexes and
databases”. Here one finds a list of the electronic indexes and
databases to which the Library subscribes. In some of these sources the
full-text of some of the periodical titles is present. Direct your attention to
the following titles for information about Legal Assistants, Paralegals and
Legal Secretaries.
Also Useful

Periodicals
To
determine the library's holdings for each of the following publications, click
on the journal title, and then enter the journal name in the search box.
There are few periodicals aimed specifically at
the Paralegal/Legal Assistant. However, the good news is that some of them are
available free of charge on-line.
-
Facts & Findings: the
official publication of the National Association of Legal Assistants, Inc.
This is a quarterly publication, and the older, bound, volumes are shelved
under the call number KF 320 L4 F3.
Recent issues will be found on the first floor, shelved in alphabetic order
by title.
-
IDALS in brief
Published by the Idaho Association of Legal Secretaries. Bound volumes will
be found under the call number KF 318 A1 I33,
recent issues will be unbound and shelved on the first floor in alphabetic
order by title.
-
Legal Assistant Today
Issued by a commercial publisher. Bound volumes in the BSU Library are
shelved under the call number KF 320 L4 L435
while recent, unbound, issues are shelved on the first floor, in alphabetic
order by title. The online access begins with 1997.
-
National Paralegal
Reporter: Official publication of [the] National Federation of Paralegal
Associations
Published quarterly. In BSU the bound volumes will be found under the call
number KF 320 L4 N38 while recent,
unbound, issues will be found on the first floor in alphabetic order.

Reference Books
The following books are
located in the reference section of the library and are useful for providing
brief, introductory information on a given topic. For more detailed
information, go to the
Library's catalog or to the
Library's Indexes to Journals and Databases.
- Bieber’s dictionary of
legal citations: reference guide for attorneys, legal secretaries,
paralegals, and law students
Legal citations provide the source of many frustrations and confusion, this
dictionary lists and explains abbreviations for the various reporter and
journal series.
KF 246 P73 1997
- Black’s Law Dictionary
Coverage is much more broad than title would indicate, it is a good source
for many subjects and essential to understand history and practice of law
and legal matters.
ref KF 156 R53 (2 vols)
- Bouvier’s law
dictionary and concise encyclopedia
Newer than the date would indicate, but dated. Definitions are easy to
understand.
ref KF 156 B6 1914x
- Encyclopedia of legal
information sources
Somewhat dated but still useful guide to sources in the field of law.
KF 1 E53 1988
- Encyclopedia of the
American judicial system: studies of the principal institutions and
processes of law
The scope and majesty of the law and its application within the judiciary.
ref KF 154 E53 1987
- Guide to American law:
everyone’s legal encyclopedia
A statement of the concepts of law in lay-person’s language.
KF 156 G77 1983
- West’s Encyclopedia of
American Law
From one of the largest publishers of legal reference sources this
encyclopedia is exhaustive in its coverage.
ref KF 154 W47 1998
Below are listed some of
the important basic manuals important to this field.
- Greene, Christine Bergen
Disposition manual for paralegals
KF 8900 G74 1993
- Cummins, Suzanne.
Evidence for paralegals
KF 8935 Z9 M35 1999
- Elias, Stephen.
Legal research: how to find and understand the law
Located in the first floor mini-ref collection.
- Nemeth, Charles.
Evidence handbook for paralegals
KF 8935 N35 1993
- Mauet, Thomas.
Fundamentals of litigation for paralegals
KF 8841 M37 2003
- Randall, Lynn M.
Litigation organization and management for paralegals
KF 320 L4 R36 1993
(For other books on these and
related subjects use the library catalog. The term “Legal Assistants” is the one
favored in this catalog.)

Web Resources
This is a highly selective list of web resources
and should not be used as a substitute for your own, more specific research
needs.

|