|
| |
Public
Administration Research Assistance
Ask a
Librarian
There are a variety of ways to get help from a librarian. You can come see us in
person, call us, email us, or chat with us via our new online answerXpress
service.
- Visit the Library
Between the Business Building and Hemingway Center, we encourage you to come
to the library and talk to a librarian in person.
- Call Us
You are welcome to call a reference librarian at 208 426-3301.
- Email Us
We invite you to email us at
refquest@boisestate.edu. A
reference librarian will reply to your email within 24 hours, Monday-Friday.
- answerXpress
Live, online help from librarians is now available to the Boise State
community 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from your computer through our
www.answerXpress.com service.

Article Indexes & Databases
All databases are available both on
campus and remotely, unless otherwise indicated. You will need to supply your
BroncoWeb ID and password to access these resources off campus.
There are indexing databases in both paper and
electronic format which will lead the user to information about Public
Administration. Below is a list of some of those sources which are available in
or via the Boise State University Albertsons Library.
- ABC Pol Sci [a paper index]
This title is issued 6 times a year with issue number 6 containing a
cumulative index. There is also a cumulative index issued for five-year
periods. Each issue contains the tables of contents from journals published
in all fields of Political Science, including Public Administration. Located
in the area of the Reference Collection devoted to indexes.
-
Alternative Press
Index
Indexes only magazines which advocate a philosophy of left of center
politically, or an alternative life-style.
-
Contemporary Women’s
Issues
While international in its scope the emphasis is on women within the
developed world. Strong on policy and planning.
-
CQ Researcher,
1992 to present
Each 12,000 word essay concentrates on a single public policy topic in the
news, giving a chronology, a balanced overview, a pro-con feature, a
bibliography, and a list of contacts for further information.
-
Essay and General
Literature Index
Analyses collections of essays on all topics with an emphasis on literature
and philosophy. It is useful for political and social planning concepts,
too.
-
Fed in Print
Index of the publications of the Federal Reserve Bank system. Excellent on
economic and fiscal planning and experimentation topics.
-
GPO Monthly Catalog
Index to many of the publication of the US Federal Government other than the
periodicals. Including Congressional, Judicial and Executive Agencies.
-
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
While BSU’s Library has relatively few of the law review journals they
are available at the Idaho Supreme Court Library, which is open to the
public. That library is in the Supreme Court building which is on the block
bounded by State and Jefferson, 4th and 5th streets.
- JSTOR
Core, scholarly political science journals are indexed and
provided full-text; not a current issues' database, there is typically a gap
from 3-5 years between the most recently published issues and "JSTOR
available" titles.
-
LexisNexis
Congressional
Indexes the publications of the U. S. Congress, its staff and committees.
The Congressional hearings are the source of a great wealth of information
concerning policy.
-
LexisNexis Government
Periodicals Index
Indexes around 200 magazines issued by agencies of the US Federal
government.
-
LexisNexis Statistical
Indexes statistical publication of the Federal Government.
- National Newspapers
Abstracts newspapers, including the
most influential--the Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post,
Wall Street Journal, and the Los Angles Times.
-
NCJRS Abstracts Index
(National Criminal Justice Reference Service)
An excellent source for a broad range of topics dealing with law, law
enforcement, the penal system and other related topics.
-
PAIS (Public Affairs
Information Service)
Coverage since 1917 of all topics of debate about public and social policy
and its applications. International in its coverage, it includes selections
of periodicals, journals as well as governmental publications, book chapters
and conference proceedings.
-
Political Science: A Sage Full-text Collection
Coverage of 25 Sage journals covering political science, American
government and politics, and Presidential studies, among others.
- Sage Public Administration Abstracts [a
paper index]
Issued quarterly with an annual cumulative index each issue has its
entries grouped by broad subject and a key-word and concept index at the
back. Abstracts of each entry appear to give the reader a clear view of the
nature of the journal article or conference paper mentioned.
-
Stat-USA
Statistical sources, many full-text, dealing with the US and sub-divisions
thereof. Both official and commercial publications are included.
- WestLaw Campus Research
Indexes case law, legal periodicals, and other law-related information,
including American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence 2d, and
regulations published in the Federal Register and the Code of
Federal Regulations.
-
Worldwide Political
Science Abstracts
A very broad and useful coverage makes this an important source of
information.

Periodicals
To
determine the library's holdings for each of the following publications, click
on the journal title, and then enter the journal name in the search box.

Reference Books
The following books are
located in the reference section of the library and are useful for providing
brief, introductory information on a given topic. For more detailed
information, go to the
Library's catalog or to the
Library's Indexes to Journals and Databases.
- Biographical
dictionary of public administration
ref JA 61 W54 2001
- Blackwell
Encyclopaedia of Political Thought
Dictionary and encyclopedic definitions from a British slant on the topic.
ref JA 61 B57 1991
- Brewer’s Politics
Identifies persons, quotations, concepts and geographic areas of importance
to politics of, mostly, the U.S. and England.
ref JA 61 C663 1995
- Encyclopedia of
Democracy
There are some surprising inclusions in this encyclopedia, long
discussions of the topics.
ref JC 423 E53 1995
- Handbook of the
International Political Science Association
Explanations of the organization and its activities and publications.
ref JA 27 I58
- International
Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration
Comprehensive coverage of concepts, practices, current issues of discussion,
policy making, evaluation, management.
ref H 97 I574 1998
- (Magill) Survey of
Social Science, Government and Politics Series
Essays on many aspects of governance, political, planning and execution in
the political arena, each essay is followed by a brief bibliography of key
sources.
ref JA 61 S88 1955
- Public Administration
Dictionary
Brief definitions of terms and concepts.
ref JA 61 F69 1995

Web Resources
This is a highly selective list of web resources
and should not be used as a substitute for your own, more specific research
needs.
-
American Planning
Association
The largest and one of the oldest of the professional organizations devoted
to public planning and public policy. Newsletters, publication announcement,
member activities will be found here.
-
American Political
Science Association. Public Administration Section
Contains current and recent issues of the APSA Public Administration
Section’s Electronic Newsletter, membership registers, research activities,
and conference postings.
-
American Society for
Public Administration
Job postings, conference announcements and full-text of the PA Times, the
newsletter of this organization.
-
Association for Public
Policy Analysis and Management
This organization strives to improve public policy and management through
excellence in research, analysis and education. Conferences and publications
are a part of its activities.
-
International
Association of Schools and Institutes of Administration (IASIA)
Membership information, research activities, conference papers, working
groups. Online newsletter and abstracts of Association books.
-
International City/County Management
Association
Association activities include study tours, continuing and professional
education.
-
International
Institute of Administrative Sciences
Sponsors conferences, meetings, research and publications dealing with
administrative sciences.
-
International Public
Management Association of Human Resources
Public employees jobs, duties, missions and activities are included.
-
Inter-University Consortium for
Political and Social Research
This cooperative venture of hundreds of “research oriented” institutions
of higher education attempts of collect and disseminate information within
the realm of political and Social research activity. Materials are lent to
students and researchers at member institutions. At
www.icpsr.umich.edu/org/publications/index.html
one will find a list of publications.
-
National Academy of
Public Administration
The Academy sponsors research and publication in the field.
-
National Association
of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration
Check the links for information about academic programs, scholarships and
general introductory reference book type materials.
-
National Center for Policy Analysis
Newsletters, videos, conferences, research into public safety, health
taxation, legal issues are the subject of this organizations activities.
-
National League of
Cities
One of the oldest public planning and public policy groups in this country,
local government is its chief interest.
-
Rand Corporation
A “think tank” which deals with issues raised by governments of all levels
and reports on its findings. Their publications are available free of charge
in PDF format from the Corporation.
-
Rural Policy Research
Institute
An organization devoted to research of issues related to planning in a
non-urban setting.
-
Urban Institute
Another long-time, non-partisan organization which devotes its efforts of
research, economic, social and political planning and policy issues for
municipalities and other urban areas.

|