|
| |
Modern Languages &
Literature Research Assistance
Ask a Librarian
There are a variety of ways to get help from a
librarian. You can come see us in person, call us, email us, or chat with
us via our new online answerXpress service.
- Visit the Library
Between the Business Building and
Hemingway Center, we encourage you to come to the library and talk to a
librarian in person.
- Call Us
You are welcome to call a reference librarian at 208 426-3301.
- Email Us
We invite you to email us at refquest@boisestate.edu.
A reference librarian will reply to your email
within 24 hours, Monday-Friday.
- answerXpress
Live, online help from
librarians is now available to the Boise State community 24 hours a day, 7
days a week from your computer through our www.answerXpress.com
service.

Article Indexes and Databases
All databases are available both on campus and
remotely, unless otherwise indicated. You will need to supply your
BroncoWeb ID and password to access these resources off campus.
-
Basque Database
-
Essay and general literature index (All subjects)
-
Fuenta academica
-
InfoTrac diversity studies
-
Informe (All Subjects, in Spanish)
-
Literary
Index
A master index to
Gale’s print literature series, providing biographical and critical essays
from such sources as Guide to French Literature, European Writers,
Contemporary World Writers, Hispanic Writers, Hispanic Literature Criticism,
Modern Japanese Writers, and World Poets.
-
MLA international bibliography (Literature)
(Modern Language
Association Bibliography), 1963 to present
Indexes critical
materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides
citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay
collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies;
some full-text.
Also Useful
-
Academic OneFile (All Subjects)
-
ArticleFirst, 1990 to present (First
Search)
Indexes 13,500 journals
including those relating to French, German, and Spanish literature and
language.
-
Expanded academic ASAP (All Subjects)
-
IngentaConnect (All
Subjects), 1988 to present
Providing access to
over 6,000 full-text, online journals and thousands of print publications with
academic and professional content in most academic subjects.
-
JSTOR: The scholarly journal archive
-
Powersearch (All Subjects)
-
Project MUSE,
some coverage 1993 to present
Produced by Johns Hopkins University Press, this full-text database covers
literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, etc. with relevant
journals including MLQ-Modern Language Quarterly, Comparative Literature
Studies, MLN, and The Journal of Modern
Literature.
-
ProQuest dissertations and theses - full text (all subjects)
With doctoral
dissertations and master's theses, this database offers 24 page previews of
1997 and newer dissertations. Older citations date to 1861. Full-text of 1.7
million titles is available in paper or microform.
-
WorldCat (All subjects)

Periodicals
To
determine the library's holdings for each of the following publications, click
on the journal title, and then enter the journal name in the search box.
Browse the tables
of contents and complete text in current, and related modern
language journals.
Kept on the Library's first floor in the current periodicals section; arranged
in alphabetical order by title.
French
General
General
Reference Books
General Web Resources
German
Spanish
Spanish Reference Books
Spanish Web Resources
Reference
Books
The following books are located
in the reference section of the library and are useful for providing brief,
introductory information on a given topic.
Culture (General)
-
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
From general
societal summaries to specific information offered by leading “experts” inside
the cultures themselves, this ten-volume resource provides demographic,
historical, social, economic, political, and religious points of view for
cultural groups; arranged geographically.
ref GN550.E53
-
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily
Life
Cultures and how
people live today are covered in this basic set, highlighting twenty
areas of daily life including cultural heritage, language, interpersonal
relationships, family life, social problems, and religion, among others.
ref GN333 .W67
Culture Web Resources
European and Foreign
-
Columbia Dictionary of Modern European
Literature
This reference
offers short author biographies and critiques of authors’ works and more
extensive essays of general subjects like French and German literatures.
ref PN771.C575
-
Contemporary World Writers
Brief essays and
information about 340 writers in over 60 countries “whose work has, at least
in part, been translated into English.”
ref PN51.C6235
-
The Continental Novel : a Checklist of
Criticism in English (1900-1980)
Arranged by
language and author, this two-volume set indexes English literary criticism of
novels and novellas from France, Germany, Spain, and other European countries.
ref PN3451.K4
-
Critical Survey of Long Fiction : Foreign
Language Series
With lengthy
critical studies of authors, whose works have significantly influenced
literature in their native tongues, and essays devoted to the novel’s
development in areas of the world where English is not the native language,
this series provides information about the time and culture in which selected
writers produced their works.
ref PN3353.C7
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography
From the award-winning series, career
biographies of writers in all eras and time periods, including Spanish,
French, German, and authors of other nationalities are presented with detailed
primary and secondary bibliographies.
ref PS88.D5
-
European Writers
In fourteen
volumes, this set provides expansive history and detailed criticism of the
literature of Europe from the Middle Ages to the 20th century.
ref PN501.E9
-
Great Foreign Language Writers
Offers a select
list of writers with entries including a biography, complete list of books,
bibliography, critical studies, and a signed critical essay about each.
ref PN451.G7
-
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
Arranged by author, this 97 volume compilation of authors represents a variety
of nationalities and presents each “author’s critical reception in English or
[in] foreign criticism in translation.”
ref PN86.L56
European and
Foreign Periodicals
European and Foreign Web Resources
French
-
Critical Bibliography of French Literature
Multi-volume set,
arranged by topic, containing extensive lists of bibliographies, books,
journal articles, dissertations, and reviews from medieval times to the
present.
ref PQ103.C74
-
Dictionary of Modern French Literature : From
the Age of Reason Through Realism
Nearly 300 entries
with coverage from the Neoclassicism period in 1715 to 1880 with the advent of
Symbolism, including short biographies and brief entries about important
works.
ref PQ41.D65
-
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
A compendium of
popular French culture defined in its very broadest social sense since the end
of World War II to the present, this compendium includes information about
cinema, political institutions, general-based studies, and critical theory,
among many.
ref DC33.7 .E53
-
French Novelists
Part of the
Dictionary of Literary Biography series, including dictionaries,
bibliographies, and biographies of French novelists.
ref PS88.D5 v.
65, 72, and 83
-
French Women Writers : a Bio-bibliographical
Source Book
Essays covering
the lives and works of 51 important French women writers, with a selection of
critical studies.
ref PQ149.F73
-
Guide to French Literature
This set offers
lengthy entries on French authors and literary themes presented by author, or
topic, from the beginnings to the present.
ref PQ226.L48
-
Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution
1789-1799
Providing the
basic facts, persons, and events of the French Revolution, this reference
offers a single work with over 500 entries to broaden general understanding of
France’s great rebellion.
ref DC147 .H57
-
Modern French Poets
Part of
Literary Biography, this resource contains biographies and bibliographies
of 20th century French poets and poetry.
ref PS88.D5 (v.
258)
-
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in
French
With over 3,000
briefer writer, literary, and subject entries, this reference also includes
comprehensive articles on literary movements and genres.
ref PQ41.N49
French
Periodicals
French Web Resources
General
-
The Encyclopedia of Language and
Linguistics
This ten-volume set
contains extensive essays on languages, linguistics, and significant figures
in their study with detailed bibliographies and a glossary.
ref P29 .E48
-
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Language and Languages
Provides a
basic background of each language and simple descriptions of linguistic terms.
ref P29.C68
-
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Embraces the
full range of linguistics’ topics, from brief entries to signed 5,000 word
essays, including descriptive, historical, comparative, typological,
functionalist, and formalist specialties.
ref P29.I58
-
Facts About the World’s Languages: an Encyclopedia of the World’s Major
Languages, Past and Present
Cultural, historical, and linguistic
descriptions of languages are presented including location, family related
languages, morphology, basic syntax, and efforts to preserve each language.
ref P371.F33
General
Periodicals
General Web Resources
German
-
A Companion to German Literature : From 1500 to the Present
Organized chronologically and generically,
this reference delves into the tastes and literary market
determined by people reading in their time, not by modern critics.
ref PT236.S55
-
Encyclopedia of German Literature
This two-volume set presents topical essays
with a transnational perspective to better understand the context of
individual German authors.
ref PT91.E53
-
Encyclopedia of German Resistance to the Nazi Movement
From broad overviews to specific topics, from
dissidence and everyday civil disobedience to military sabotage and
solidarity; this work includes bibliographies and biographies.
ref DD256.5 .L51313
-
The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich
A two-volume translation of the original
German language work, this multi-faceted reference contains entries from
anti-Semitism and Hitler’s worldview to Third Reich sports and religion.
ref DD256.5 .G76313
-
The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich
A two-volume translation of the original
German language work, this multi-faceted reference contains entries from
anti-Semitism and Hitler’s worldview to Third Reich sports and religion.
ref DD256.5 .S57
-
The Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature
Focuses on women’s contributions to German
literature, film, culture, history, and the historical context, which both
enabled these contributions and marginalized them.
ref PT41.F46
-
Oxford Companion to German Literature
Representing vast historical and cultural
influences of Europe’s past and present day Germany, this resource provides
information about German culture from the 1960’s to the present.
ref PT41.G3
German
Periodicals
German Web Resources
Spanish
-
Diccionario de literatura española e hispanoamericana
A two volume set comprising a Spanish and
Spanish-American literature dictionary.
ref PQ6006.D525
-
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
Covering 1939 to the present, this resource
contains over 700 entries from architecture, university education, and
language to national identity and famous authors and artists.
ref DP233.5 .E63
-
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Containing the work of over 800 scholars,
this resource with its 5,000 entries reflects how Latin Americans of all
classes comprehend their worlds.
ref F1406 .E53
-
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
Covers writers, their works, and topics
related to Latin American literature, including survey articles about all
Latin American countries.
ref PQ7081.A1 E56
-
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature
Spain’s literature is examined through a
women’s studies’ lens; alphabetically arranged articles consider writers,
works, movements, genres, and other aspects of Spanish literature.
ref PQ6055.F46
-
Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature
and Spanish American Literature
Excellent guide to general and regional
resources.
ref PC4071.W66
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies
An annual compilation of important
publications in the disciplines of anthropology, economics, geography,
government, history, politics, literature, and others with a Latin American
focus.
ref Z1605.H23
-
Hispanic Literature Criticism
With longer, more detailed essays, this
three-volume collection “presents a broad selection of the best criticism of
works by major Hispanic writers of the past one hundred years.”
ref PQ7081.A1 H573
-
Hispanic Writers : a Selection of Sketches from Contemporary Authors
More than four hundred entries on 20th
century Hispanic writers, originally written or updated for this compilation.
ref PQ7081.3.H58
-
Latin American Literary Authors : an Annotated Guide to Bibliographie
Bibliographies of Brazilian and Spanish
American authors, journalists, linguists, and literary critics, this resource
includes lesser known references to all.
ref PQ7081.Z8
-
Latin American Literature and Its Times (World Literature and Its Times, v. 1)
Profiles of notable Spanish-American,
Brazilian, and Latino literary works and the historical events that influenced
their authors.
ref PN50.W6
-
Latin American Writers
This set offers longer entries with good
bibliographies; many major writers covered extensively.
ref PQ7081.A1 L37
-
Libros en Venta en América Latina y España
Catalogs, publishers, and literature
published in Spain and Latin America.
ref Z160.L59
-
Oxford Companion To Spanish Literature
A one-volume guide to information selected
for its value to readers of literature written in the Spanish language,
including selections about Spanish, Central American, Basque, Catalan, and
Castilian authors.
ref PQ6006.O95
-
A Reference Index to Twelve Thousand Spanish American Authors : a Guide to the
Literature of Spanish America
This dated, but still valuable, resource
indexing authors alphabetically from both North and South American and Spain,
offers author information and where their works can be accessed.
ref Z1601.G86
Spanish Periodicals
Spanish Web Resources
Web Resources
-
Modern Languages Resource
Center at Boise State
Computer, language software, videos, conversation lab, satellite TV, and
other resources are available in the center, Library, Room 144, to assist
students in their language studies.
-
Berkeley Germanic
Collections
This site offers a comprehensive entry to the University of California
Berkeley Collections, comprising German and Austrian library catalogs and
servers, literature sites in both German and English, and current information
and references.
-
FSI Language Courses
"Home for language courses developed by the
Foreign Service Institute. These courses were developed by the United States
government and are in the public domain. This site is dedicated to making
these language courses freely available in an electronic format. It is an
independent effort to foster the learning of worldwide languages."
-
Gabriel
Powered by the British Library, this site is a gateway to Europe’s national
libraries, including those in France, Spain, and Germany.
-
Humbul Humanities Hub
Hosted by the University of Oxford,
England, this portal offers evaluated online sources including those in Modern
Languages, Linguistics, and studies in French, German, and Spanish.
-
ILoveLanguages
More than 2,000 links have been reviewed by librarians at the Virtual Library;
providing information about translating dictionaries, native literatures,
language schools, and more.
-
Internet Public
Library Literary Criticism Collection
Links to critical and biographical sites about authors and their works can be
browsed by author, title, nationality, or literary period.
-
LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
Academic resources for Latin American literature,
including primary texts and criticism, are listed here in this University of
Texas site dedicated to Latin American studies.
-
Linguist List
The “world’s largest online linguistic resource” run by linguistic professors
and graduate students.
-
Modern Language Association
Founded in 1883 by scholars and teachers, 30,000 MLA
members promote the study and teaching of language and literature in 100
countries.
-
The New English-German Dictionary
Personal webpage created by Rüdiger Werner and Dr. K. Koora. A comprehensive
English-German Dictionary containing more than 570,000 translations. Helps
you to find translations to a specific term including several examples for
context usage. In addition to the daily usage terminology, it also includes
translations to many special terms from the field of mathematics, physics,
electronics, technical drawing, chemistry, law, geographics, medicine,
biology, architecture (and many more).
-
Spectator On-Line
Electronic
archive of the complete runs of The Spectator and The Tatler with split screen
comparison page for detailed analysis.
-
Tennessee Bob’s Famous French Links
A 10,000 link supersite, including links to Francophone information, books and
literature, general culture, history, the French language, and French in
everyday life.
-
UC Publications in Linguistics
-
Western
European Studies Section : WESSWEB
A site maintained by the Association of College and Research Libraries,
providing links to French, German, and Iberian (Spanish and Portuguese)
studies.

|