Citing Print and
Electronic Documents
MLA Style
This guide is intended as a general
introduction to citing sources using the bibliographic style established by
the Modern Language Association (MLA). For more complete details, see the
most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
ref LB2369 .G53 2003.
Note that this manual also includes essential information on research and
writing, and manuscript preparation (e.g., margins, use of the passive
voice).
In-Text Citations: General
Guidelines
Format of the citation:
- Provide the author's last name and the
page number (Smith 10).
- But... do not repeat the author's name in
your citation if you have included it in your text.
Location references in electronic sources:
- Do not include page numbers or location
references in electronic documents.
In-Text Citations: Text
Sample
Note: In an
MLA style manuscript, the text below would be double-spaced, with no extra
space between paragraphs. But because of the limitations of HTML, that's
difficult to show here.
The custom of
citing references – that is, providing a record of the sources you have used
for your research – is a form of professional honesty and courtesy that is
based on a regard for the responsibilities that writers have to readers and
to other writers to indicate when they have used someone else's ideas or
words.
Citing sources
also strengthens the authority of your work, by demonstrating that you have
considered others' opinions and ideas in forming your own. In addition, it
gives the the reader valuable information, indicating where he or she may go
to get further information on that subject; for many researchers, the list
of cited references at the end of a relevant article or book is the single
most valuable item they can come across in their research.
Accuracy in citing
references is highly regarded, and essential in helping others locate the
materials you used in your research. Consider the following, from the
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed.:
Because one
purpose of listing references is to enable readers to retrieve and use the
sources, reference data must be correct and complete [...]. Authors are
responsible for all information in their reference lists. Accurately
prepared references help establish your credibility as a careful researcher.
An inaccurate or incomplete reference "will stand in print as an annoyance
to future investigators and a monument to the writer's carelessness" (qtd.
in Bruner: 68) (216).
Because of the
importance of citing references, the scholarly community has agreed on
several standards – found in style manuals – to use when citing a reference
or compiling a bibliography. Many different styles exist; the following list
represents the most commonly used or prominent styles.
Works Cited
Bruner, Katherine F. "Of Psychological Writing:
Being Some Valedictory Remarks on Style." Journal of Abnormal and Social
Psychology 37 (1942): 52-70.
Publication Manual of the American
Psychological Association. 5th ed. Washington, DC: American
Psychological Association, 2001.
Works Cited: General
Guidelines
- Items are presented in alphabetical order
by the first author's last name, or, if no author is listed, by the first
element of the citation (generally the title).
- Use hanging indents.
- Underlining is preferred over the use of
italics.
- During your research, develop a consistent
system for noting bibliographic information (author, title, date,
publisher, source, page numbers) and keep it with your notes or copies of
the source material you used.
- Always consult your
professor/department/publisher for specific requirements.
Sample List of Works
Cited
Note: In an
MLA style manuscript, the text below would be double-spaced, with no extra
space between paragraphs. But because of the limitations of HTML, that's
difficult to show here.
|
Citation Example |
Type of Citation |
|
Bankes, Paul, et al. "Censorship and
Restraint: Lessons Learned from the Catalyst." College Student
Journal 35 (2001): 335-338. Academic Search Elite. Ebsco.
Univ. of OR Lib., Eugene, OR. 9 Aug. 2003. |
Journal article retrieved from an electronic
database, more than 3 authors, continuous pagination |
|
Chafee, Zachariah, Jr. "Freedom of Speech
and Press." The Heritage of Freedom: Essays on the Rights of Free Men.
Ed. Wilfred S. Dowden and T. N. Marsh. New York: Harper, 1962. 140-156. |
Chapter in an edited book |
|
Dennis, Everette E. and John Vanden Heuvel.
Emerging Voices: East European Media in Transition: A Report of the
Gannett Foundation Task Force on Press Freedom in Eastern Europe.
2nd ed. New York: Gannett Foundation Media Center, 1991. |
Book |
|
"FCC Ruling to Stifle Debate, Critics Say."
Buffalo News 13 June 2003: C1. |
Newspaper article, unsigned |
|
Foerstel, Herbert N., ed. Free Expression
and Censorship in America: An Encyclopedia. Westport, CT: Greenwood,
1997. |
Encyclopedia or dictionary |
|
Hardt, Hanno. "Communication Is Freedom:
Karl Marx on Press Freedom and Censorship." Javnost: The Public
7.4 (2000): 85-99. |
Journal article, pagination restarts with
each issue |
|
Jayasekera, Rohan. "Gives with One Hand,
Takes Away with the Other." Index on Censorship. 11 June 2003. 9
Aug. 2003 <http://www.indexonline.org/news/20030611_iraq.shtml>. |
Article retrieved from web site |
|
Jeffords, Susan and Lauren Rabinovitz, eds.
Seeing through the Media: The Persian Gulf War. New Brunswick,
NJ: Rutgers UP, 1994. |
Edited book |
|
Making the News Fit. Dir. Beth
Sanders. Cinema Guild, 1987. |
Film or video |
|
Paretsky, Sara. "The New Censorship." New
Statesman 2 June 2003: 18-20. |
Magazine article |
|
Project Censored. Sonoma State U. 9
Aug. 2003 <http://www.projectcensored.org/>. |
Entire web site, no date of publication |
|
Solomon, Norman. "Self-Censorship Shadows
New Media." Online posting. 15 Mar. 2000. Misc.Activism.Progressive. 9
Aug. 2003 <http://groups.google.com/groups?selm=8apls9%2429kg%241%40pencil.math.missouri.edu>. |
Message posted to a newsgroup |
|
United States. Cong. Senate. Subcommittee on
Constitutional Rights of the Commmittee on the Judiciary. Freedom of
the Press. 92nd Cong., 1st and 2nd sess. Washington: GPO, 1972. |
Government hearing, whole hearing |
Acknowledgement:
The text of this
document has been copied and modified with the
permission of the author,
Colleen Bell,
at the University of Oregon Libraries (5/21/04).