|
| |
|
Mexican American Studies Research
Assistance
Ask a
Librarian
There are a variety of ways to get help from a librarian. You can come
see us in person, call us, email us, or chat with us via our new online
answerXpress service.
- Visit the
Library
Between the Business Building and Hemingway Center, we encourage you
to come to the library and talk to a librarian in person.
- Call Us
You are welcome to call a reference librarian at 208 426-3301.
- Email Us
We invite you to email us at
refquest@boisestate.edu.
A reference librarian will reply to your email within 24 hours,
Monday-Friday.
- answerXpress
Live, online help from librarians is now available to the Boise
State community 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from your computer
through our
www.answerXpress.com
service.

|
Article Indexes and
Databases
All databases are available
both on campus and remotely, unless otherwise indicated. You will need to supply
your BroncoWeb ID and password to access these resources off campus.
- Chicano Database
1991-date
ref E184 .M5 C48
Previous titles: Chicano Index / Chicano Periodical Index 1967-1993
ref E184 M5C5
Please note: These are on CD and may be found on Reference Index shelf 101A
- HAPI: Hispanic
American Periodicals Index, v. 1(1970)-date
Reference Index Shelf #101A
- For a list of all the
indexes and databases accessible via Albertsons Library's web site, many of
which provide full-text articles, go to:
http://library.boisestate.edu/indexes/

Periodicals
To determine
the library's holdings for each of the following publications, click on the
journal title, and then enter the journal name in the search box.
To discover whether these titles are available in
full text online, in paper, or on microform; and if our holdings are current or
no longer received, go to the Library's online
Journal List. In addition to providing online information, this will
lead you to our Voyager catalog which lists the extent and locations of the
Library's holdings for a particular title.
To find out where a title is currently indexed,
go to
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.
Don't hesitate to ask you need help.

Reference
Books
The following books
are located in the reference section of the library and are useful for
providing brief, introductory information on a given topic. For more
detailed information, go to the
Library's catalog or to
the
Library's Indexes to Journals and
Databases.
-
Bibliographic Guide to
Chicana and Latina Narrative
ref PS153 M4 L46 2003
-
Chicano Literature: a
Reference Guide
ref PS153 M4C46 1985
-
Chicano Writers
First Series, 1989; Second Series 1992; Third Series, 1999. These are
part of a larger set Dictionary of Literary Biography (v. 82, 122 and 209
respectively), on Reference index table 89B.
-
Dictionary of Chicano
Folklore
ref GR111 M49C37 2000
-
Encyclopedia of the
Mexican-American Civil Rights Movement
ref E184 M5 M458 2000
-
Encyclopedia of the
Mexican-American War
ref E404 .C93 1999
-
Encyclopedia of Latino
Popular Culture, 2v.
ref E184 S75 E59 2004
-
Financial Aid for Hispanic
Americans
A list of scholarships, fellowships, loans,
grants, awards and internships open primarily or exclusively to Hispanic
Americans.
ref LB2337.2 F566
-
Hispanic-American Almanac: a
Reference Book on Hispanics in the U.S. 3rd ed. -
West Campus
ref E184S75 H557 2003
-
Hispanic Databook: Detailed
Statistics & Rankings on the Hispanic Population for 1,266 U.S. Counties and
Cities. 2nd ed. 2004
-
Hispanic Firsts: 500 Years of
Extraordinary Achievement
ref E184 S75 K36 1997
-
Hispanic Scholarship
Directory
ref LB2338 H57 2000
-
Hispanics in Hollywood: a
Celebration of 100 Years in Film & Television
ref PN 1995.9 R49 2000
-
Latin American Women Artists
of the U.S.
ref N6538 H58 H46 1999
-
Latino Americans and
Political Participation: a Reference Handbook
ref E184 S75 L3557 2004
-
Latino and Latina Writers
ref PS153 H56L39 2004
-
Latino Encyclopedia
ref E184 S75L357 1996
-
Latino Literacy: the Complete
Guide to our Hispanic History and Culture
ref E184 S75 D38 1996
-
Mexican-American Experience:
an Encyclopedia
ref E184 M5 M4535 2003
-
Mexican-Americans in the
Twentieth-Century West: a Bibliography
ref F596.3 M5 E88
-
Notable Latino-Americans: A
Biographical Dictionary
ref E184 S75 M435 1997
-
Oxford Encyclopedia of
Latinos and Latinas in the U.S.
ref E184 S75 O97 2005
-
St. James Guide to Hispanic
Artists: Profiles of Latino & Latin American Artists
-
Voices of Multicultural
America: Notable Speeches Delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic and Native
Americans, 1790-1995
ref PS 663 M55 V64 1996

Web Resources

|