|
| |
Geosciences Research Assistance
Ask a
Librarian
There are a variety of ways to get help from a librarian. You can come see us in
person, call us, email us, or chat with us via our new online answerXpress
service.
- Visit the Library
Between the Business Building and Hemingway Center, we encourage you to come
to the library and talk to a librarian in person.
- Call Us
You are welcome to call a reference librarian at 208 426-3301.
- Email Us
We invite you to email us at
refquest@boisestate.edu. A
reference librarian will reply to your email within 24 hours, Monday-Friday.
- answerXpress
Live, online help from librarians is now available to the Boise State
community 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from your computer through our
www.answerXpress.com service.

Article Indexes & Databases
All databases are available both on
campus and remotely, unless otherwise indicated. You will need to supply your
BroncoWeb ID and password to access these resources off campus.
-
GeoRef, 1785 to present (North America)
and 1933 to present (international)
Includes over 2,700,000 citations and
abstracts from over 3,500 sources in geology and geophysics including the
areas of hydrology, oceanography, crystallography, geochemistry,
paleontology, mineralogy, and environmental geology.
-
GeoScienceWorld
Comprehensive Internet resource
for research and communications in the geosciences that provides access to
peer-reviewed full-text articles from high impact geoscience publications.
Indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
-
Web of Science.
Science Citation Index Expanded,
1981 to present
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences that fully
indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines including
environmental sciences, geochemistry & geophysics, geosciences, meteorology
& atmospheric sciences, and water resources.
-
GEOBASE, 1980 to present
Covers worldwide literature
on geography, geology, and ecology and supplies bibliographic information
and abstracts in the areas of geology, geomechanics, oceanography, physical
geography, human geography, international development, and ecology.
-
Inspec, 1969 to present
Covers world literature in the fields of physics, electronics and electrical
engineering, computers and control, and information technology including the
areas of geophysics, physics
of minerals and structural geology.
-
SciFinder Scholar, 1907 to present,
Available only on campus by BSU affiliated individuals. Requires special
client software.
Provides access to the electronic version of Chemical Abstracts.
Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles and other materials
in the areas of technology and science, including mineralogy and
geochemistry.
Also Useful
-
Academic OneFile
Provides access to peer-reviewed articles from journals and reference
sources. Some full-text articles in HTML and/or PDF are available. Subject
coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social
sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects; intended
primarily for academic researchers.
-
Academic search premier
Multidisciplinary full text and abstract
database that provides full text for over 4,500 peer-reviewed publications
covering academic areas of study including the physical sciences.
-
Publications Warehouse, 1880 to present
Contains more than 70,000 U.S. Geological Survey bibliographic citations,
including USGS numbered series begun as early as 1880. Citations and online
documents are added regularly. Availability of content ranges from full
text to bibliographic citation only.
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text, 1861 to present
Indexes dissertations and master's theses from most North American
graduate schools as well as some universities abroad. Provides the full text
of dissertations from 1997 to the present and provides citations for
dissertations from 1861 to the present. Abstracts are included from 1980 to
the present.
-
CRC Handbook of
Chemistry and Physics Available only on campus
Online version of the 84th edition of the CRC handbook of
chemistry and physics.
-
PapersFirst, 1993 to present
Indexes papers from every published congress, symposium, conference,
exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document
Supply Centre.
-
ProceedingsFirst, 1993 to present
Provides the table of contents from conference proceedings received by The
British Library Document Supply Centre.

Periodicals
To
determine the library's holdings for each of the following publications, click
on the journal title, and then enter the journal name in the search box.
Climatology & Meteorology
Environmental Science
Geography (including physical geography and hydrology)
Geology (including mineralogy and paleontology)
Geophysics & Geomagnetism
Science (General and other related)

Books for Geosciences
Most of the following books
are located in the reference section of the library and are useful for providing
brief, introductory information on a given topic. For more detailed and other
information, go to the Library's catalog or to the Library's Indexes to Journals
and Databases.
Environmental Science
-
Encyclopedia of global environmental change
Covers the broad, multi-disciplinary field of
global environmental change. Each of the five volumes includes extended
essays on major topics, followed by shorter articles on relevant scientific
topics, descriptions of scientific programs, definitions, acronyms, and
biographies of leading contributors to the field.
ref GE149.E443 2002
-
Macmillan encyclopedia of the environment
Provides basic information about such topics
as minerals, energy resources, pollution, soils and erosion, wildlife and
extinction, agriculture, the ocean, wilderness, hazardous wastes,
population, environmental laws, ecology, and evolution.
ref GE10.M33 1997
Geography
-
Columbia gazetteer of the world
Includes entries for political divisions
(states, provinces, capitals), the physical world (oceans, mountains,
volcanoes), and special places (military bases, dams, national parks).
ref G103.5.C65 1998
-
Geo-data : the world geographical encyclopedia
Includes descriptions about physical and
related cultural features of countries, oceans, and continents.
ref G103.5.G36 2003
-
Geographic information
Covers the field of Geographic Information
Systems (GIS) including map basics, finding place names, atlases, aerial
photos, remotely sensed images, standards, organizations, careers, and
general geographic works.
ref G116.J64 2003
-
Merriam-Webster's geographical dictionary
Includes information on spelling,
pronunciation, types of features, and often size, population, economy,
history, and other pertinent facts for geographic entities.
ref G103.5.W42 1997
Geology (including mineralogy and
paleontology)
-
Dana's new mineralogy
This is a revised edition of: The system of
mineralogy of James Dwight Dana and Edward Salisbury. Describes the 3700+
recognized mineral species.
ref QE372.D23 1997
-
Dictionary of earth sciences
Includes material about remote sensing,
planetary exploration, and current geophysics’ topics.
ref QE5.D54 1999
-
Earth science
This update of Magill's survey of science:
earth science series provides essays on earth science disciplines including
geology, geophysics, atmospheric science, oceanography, environmental
science, and paleontology; each signed essay defines principle terms with
cross references and bibliographies provided.
ref QE28.E12 2001
-
Encyclopedia of earth system science
Covers the subject of the Earth as a system
of interactive processes and describes how these processes affect and are
affected by each other. Includes the areas of atmospheric science,
biogeochemistry, climatology, ecology, geology, geophysics, glaciology,
hydrology, meteorology, mineralogy, oceanography, petrology, and other
related fields.
ref QE5.E514 1992
-
Encyclopedia of earthquakes and volcanoes
Includes terms, regions, peoples and episodes
in seismology and volcanology as well as a chronology of earthquakes and
eruptions with dates, locations, deaths, and damage.
QE521.R58 1994
-
Encyclopedia of paleontology
Covers both vertebrate and invertebrate
specialties and includes “explanations of paleontological concepts and
techniques, exams of evolutionary development of particular organisms and
biological features, profiles of major discoveries, and biographies of
leading scientists.”
ref QE703.E523 1999
-
Encyclopedia of quaternary science
Contains over 360 articles on Quaternary science looking at changes in the
Earth's environment during the last 2.6 million years. Subjects included
are: paleoclimatology, dating techniques, quaternary stratigraphy,
Quaternary glaciation, fluvial environments, history of Quaternary
glaciations, sea level studies, paleosols and wind-blown sediments, lake
level studies, paleobotany, paleolimnology, vertebrate studies, insect
fossil studies, paleoceanography, ice core studies, stable isotope research
- carbonates, and humans in the Quaternary. Only available online at:
http://libproxy.boisestate.edu/login?url=http://libproxy.boisestate.edu/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com.libproxy.boisestate.edu/science?_ob=MiamiSearchURL&_method=requestForm&_temp=search.tmpl&_acct=C000048533&_version=1&_urlVersion=1&_userid=933469&md5=46975f1d1fd132c672cd93418bc7c404/science/referenceworks/9780444527479
QE741 .E48 2007
-
Encyclopedia of sediments and sedimentary rocks
Approaches sedimentology from these main
points of departure--the geochemical, mineralogical, petrological, and
petrophysical aspects; facies analysis to determine sedimentary
environments; and the basic physical, chemical, and biological processes
that form sediments.
ref QE471.2.E53 2003
-
Encyclopedia of volcanoes
Contains individual articles arranged in a
thematic manner on the studies of the origin and transport of magma, of
eruptions, and of effusive volcanism and explosive volcanism. Each entry has
an essay outline, glossary, and suggestions for further reading.
ref QE522.E53 2000
-
Glossary of geology
Includes 37,000 entries reviewed by over a
hundred subject experts providing information about petrology, remote
sensing, plate tectonics, seismic stratigraphy, etc.
ref QE5.B38 1997
-
Handbook of mineralogy
Includes physical properties information
about elements, sulfides, and sulfosalts; silica and silicates; halides,
hydroxides, and oxides; and arsenates, phosphates, and vanadates. All five
volumes available in the reference section; v. 2. Silica, silicates is
available online at:
http://www.minsocam.org/MSA/Handbook/
ref QE366.8 .H36 1990
-
Mineral physics & crystallography : a handbook of physical
constants
Provides selected properties data for
minerals. Includes phase diagrams of earth-forming minerals and data on
infrared, raman, and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy of earth
materials. Also available online at:
http://www.agu.org/reference/mainrefshelf.html
ref QE366.8.M55 1995
-
Practical handbook of physical properties of rocks and
minerals
Includes basic information on rocks and
minerals and covers mineral composition of rocks; densities of rocks and
minerals; inelastic properties of rocks and minerals; strength and rheology;
magnetic properties; electrical properties; seismic velocities; seismic
attenuation; radioactivity; spectroscopic properties and engineering
properties.
QE431.6.P5C73 1989
-
Rock physics & phase relations : a handbook of physical
constants
Provides selected properties data for the
physical nature of rocks in the earth's crust and mantle. Includes
information on physical and geochemical properties of rocks, sediments, and
soils, as well as information on the structural aspects in rock failure and
rheology. Also available online at:
http://www.agu.org/reference/mainrefshelf.htm
QE433.8.R63 1995
Geophysics & Geomagnetism
-
Encyclopedic dictionary of applied geophysics
Revised edition of: Encyclopedic dictionary
of exploration geophysics. 3rd ed. c1991. Most new terms are in the areas of
engineering and production problems, 3D (including multicomponent)
acquisition and processing, visualization, S- and converted waves,
interpretation, anisotropy, AVO, geostatistics, geohazards, neural networks,
tomography, downhole measurements, horizontal drilling, and deepwater work.
Includes a guide to pronunciation and reference figures and tables.
TN269.S524 2002 - Also
available online -
click here
-
Global earth physics : a handbook of physical
constants
Provides selected critical data for solid
Earth and planetary geophysicists. Includes information on geodetic
properties of the earth and planets, global magnetic fields, and seismic,
electrical, thermal, and geochemical structure of the crust, mantle, and
tectonic plates.
QC808.8.G56 1995 - Also
available online at:
http://www.agu.org/reference/mainrefshelf.html
Climatology & Meteorology
-
Dictionary of global climate change
Includes definitions for climate and weather
related terms.
ref QC981.8.C5M38 1994
-
Dictionary of geophysics, astrophysics, and astronomy
Includes 3,750 entries supported by equations
and diagrams and authored by scientists and academicians in the above
fields.
ref QB14.D53 2001
-
Encyclopedia of atmospheric sciences
Covers all aspects of atmospheric sciences
including both theory and applications. Includes 330+ signed articles that
each have a bibliography of additional readings. It is well indexed and
cross-referenced.
ref QC854.E522 2003
-
Encyclopedia of climate and weather
Covers natural scientific subjects as well as
the social sciences that have contributed to their understanding; essays
range from adaptation and Africa to wind chill and zonal circulation, thus
providing information for physicists, ecologists, geographers, hydrologists,
and others.
ref QC854.E523 1996
-
Encyclopedia of climatology
Covers theoretical and applied climatology,
including information on present, past, and future climates.
QC854.E525 1987
-
The Weather almanac
Includes in-depth weather records for over
100 major U.S. cities, a climatic overview of the country, and weather atlas
maps.
ref QC983.W38 [most recent ed.]
QC983.W38 [earlier eds.]
Science (General)
-
Academic Press dictionary of science and technology
Includes terms that are only found in special
dictionaries, encyclopedias, and glossaries in 124 areas of science and
technology.
ref Q123.A33 1992
-
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology
Covers 97 fields of science including
geochemistry, physical, historical, and sedimentary geology, surficial and
petrology geology, geology and geodesy, geophysics, invertebrate
paleontology, mineralogy, oceanography and physical geography.
ref Q121.M3 2002

Web Resources
This is a highly selective list of web resources
and should not be used as a substitute for your own, more specific research
needs.
Climatology & Meteorology
Environmental Science
-
National Council for Science and the Environment
Nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the scientific basis for
environmental decision-making. Works closely with the many communities
creating and using environmental knowledge, including research, education,
environmental, business organizations, and governmental bodies.
U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency
The mission of the agency is to protect human health and the
environment.
Geography (including physical geography and hydrology)
-
Association for Geographic Information
UK-based association which
supports the geographic information industry by sharing information, news,
useful links, and standards and by promoting education and research.
-
Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS)
Website for the data management, systems development, and research field
center for the U.S. Geological Survey's Geography Discipline.
-
Geodata.gov
Web-based portal for one-stop access to maps, data, and other geospatial
services from across all levels of government,
including the USGS. Geodata.gov is a component of the National Spatial Data
Infrastructure.
-
National Water Information System: Web Interface
Provides access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5
million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.
Geology (including mineralogy and paleontology)
-
American Geological Institute
Nonprofit federation of 40+ geoscientific and professional associations that
represents more than 100,000 geologists,
geophysicists, and other earth scientists. Includes links to the websites of
the member societies.
-
Association of American State Geologists
Provides access to State Geologists, State Geological Surveys or other state
geology or mineral resources departments.
-
Geological Society of America
Provides access to elements
for the professional growth of earth scientists at all levels of expertise
and from all sectors.
-
Geological Surveys
Includes links to Geological Surveys worldwide
-
National Earthquake Information Center
Determines the location and size of all destructive earthquakes worldwide
and disseminates the information to national and international agencies,
scientists, and the general public.
-
U.S. Geological Survey
Multi-disciplinary
science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial
information, and water and that provides
science about the earth, its natural and living resources, natural hazards,
and the environment.
-
U.S. Geological Survey Library
Provides access to the U.S.
Geographic Names System and the National Geologic Map Database, geological
surveys, Earth Science Photographic archive, and USGS publications.
Geophysics & Geomagnetism
-
American Geophysical Union
International organization for geophysicists to create the programs and
products needed to advance their science.
-
National Geophysical Data Center
Powered by NOAA, this center provides “scientific stewardship, products, and
services for geophysical data from the Sun to the Earth and
Earth's sea floor and solid earth environment, including Earth observations
from space.”
-
Society of Exploration Geophysicists
Connects students with prospective employers and offers news alerts and
continuing education opportunities.
Science (General and other related)
-
Intute: Science, Engineering and Technology
Tool for discovering Internet resources for teaching, learning and research,
covering the physical sciences, engineering, computing, geography,
mathematics and environmental science. Maintained and developed by experts based at The
University of Manchester and Heriot-Watt University in the UK.
-
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
Central resource for government-funded scientific, engineering, and related
information with over 600,000 entries covering 350 subjects from 200 federal
agencies.

|