|
| |
Economics
Research Assistance
Ask a Librarian
There are a variety of ways to get help from a librarian. You can come see us in
person, call us, email us, or chat with us via our new online answerXpress
service.
- Visit the Library
Between the Business Building and Hemingway Center, we encourage you to come
to the library and talk to a librarian in person.
- Call Us
You are welcome to call a reference librarian at 208 426-3301.
- Email Us
We invite you to email us at
refquest@boisestate.edu. A
reference librarian will reply to your email within 24 hours, Monday-Friday.
- answerXpress
Live, online help from librarians is now available to the Boise State
community 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from your computer through our
www.answerXpress.com service.

Article Indexes & Databases
All databases are available both on
campus and remotely, unless otherwise indicated. You will need to supply your
BroncoWeb ID and password to access these resources off campus.
For the electronic databases go to
http://library.boisestate.edu/indexes
and scroll to the alphabetic entry location. For the Print
indexes ask at the Reference Desk, for assistance with either style ask for
assistance at the Reference Desk.
-
EconLit,
1969 to present
Powered by the American Economic Association this
database is an exhaustive index of articles and book chapters which deal
with the organization, history, theory and application of “political
economy”.
Also useful
-
Business & Company Resource
Center,
1980 to present
This general academic business database offers company profiles and
histories, brand information, rankings, investment reports, and securities
data from thousands of business periodicals, many full-text.
- Business Periodicals Index [a paper
index]
One of the corner-stone resources for applied economics, it is not bad for
policy coverage, either.
-
Fed in Print
Indexes the periodicals and research reports of the various Federal Banks,
authoritative, if somewhat narrow in scope.
-
GPO
An index to the publications of the US Federal Government, an invaluable
resource to the study of economics. Not all of the publications indexed in
this source appear in Voyager, so be certain to ask for assistance at the
reference desk.
-
Lexis Governmental
and also
Lexis Statistical
Indexes to non-statistical and statistical information, respectively, issued
by the Federal Government and some supportive organization. As with several
such resources check with staff at the reference desk to learn how to locate
the materials indexed in these two important resources.
-
PAIS (Public Affairs Information
Service)
Unique in that it indexes both periodicals and non-periodicals, but neither
exhaustively. It covers only topics which are the subject of current debate
as to policy and / or theory. International in its coverage it includes much
information of use to those in the fields of economics.
-
Papers First
Papers read at conferences and meetings which may or may not make it into
publication, attempt is to report recent efforts. See also Proceedings
First, below.
-
Proceedings First
Covers all subject fields. It includes papers read at conferences and
meetings and is often the first place one may find these materials, since
the delay in publishing can be of lengthy duration. See also Papers First,
above.
- Social Science Index [a paper index]
Covers the fields of economics, sociology, political science, politics and
anthropology. An excellent index for a variety of single topic and
overlapping fields of coverage.

Periodicals
To
determine the library's holdings for each of the following publications, click
on the journal title, and then enter the journal name in the search box.
Browse print text in select accounting and
auditing journals kept on the Library’s first floor in the current periodicals
section; arranged in alphabetical order by title. This compilation below
provides a partial list only; other periodicals are available both in print and
electronically. To check our complete holdings go to Journals link on the
Library homepage.
There are far too many journals in the field of
Economics to mention all of them, the reader is directed to the current
periodicals area where recent issues of current received issues are shelved in
alphabetic order, by title. Students may be expected by their professors to be
familiar with some or all of the general titles below, as well as those titles
of a more specific nature.

Reference Sources
The following books are
located in the reference section of the library and are useful for providing
brief, introductory information on a given topic. For more detailed
information, go to the
Library's catalog or to the
Library's Indexes to Journals and Databases.
- Black’s Law Dictionary
Coverage is much more broad than title would indicate, good for economics, Political and Social Sciences.
ref KF 156 R53 (2 vols)
- Economics
Basic information suitable for high school and undergraduate college
students.
ref HB 183 E26 (6 vols)
- Economic Indicators
Released every month, these government statistics indicate the growth and
health of the U.S. economy; they include inflation rate, factory
utilization, and employment rate, among others. (Also available from January
1998 to present online at
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/indicators/browse.html
Doc Dept Y4 Ec7. Ec7/year
- Economic Report of the President
An annual publication of the Joint Economic Committee of the Congress this
is the official statement of both achievement and plans for the economy of
the US. (Some reports are available online at:
http://origin.www.gpoaccess.gov/eop/)
HC106.5 A272
- International Encyclopedia of the Social
Sciences
An older work still the standard for philosophy and theory of all of the
Social Sciences, including economics. Entries are long and sub-divided, an
excellent place to begin or to refresh.
ref H 40 A2 I5 (17 vols + supplements)
- International Encyclopedia of the Social
and Behavioral Sciences
Newer than the above with more recent coverage of developments, but does not
cover the philosophy or theory of the earlier work. Stronger coverage of
applications.
ref H 41 I58 (26 vols)
- (Magill) Survey of Social Science,
Economics Series
Excellent essay entries for most aspects of economics, restatements and
critiques of major theorists and contributors of the field. Of great value
for brief bibliographies of additional reading. An excellent source for the
student or professional who is beginning to study a new area or field.
ref HB 61 S94 (5 vols)
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
This is the standard and classic dictionary for theory and applications.
ref HB 61 N49 (4 vols)
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and
the Law
A more recent work than the above and more specific in its coverage, it has
become a “new classic”.
ref K 487 E3 N49 (3 vols)
- Who’s Who in Economics
Brief biographical sketches of professors and practitioners, emphasis is on
US.
ref HB 76 W47
STATISTICAL SOURCES
Each of the following international agencies produce statistical reports on a
regular basis and which may be of great use to those interested in the economy,
international development, country specific or international information.
- OECD (Organization for Economic
Co-operation and Development)
Originally Western Europe, Canada and the US, it has in recent years,
like NATO grown to include more European countries. Its publications
include: Consumer Price Indices HB225 O73
1980. Education at a Glance (a computer file).
Education in States and Nations; indicators comparing U. S. states with
the OECD countries . . . Doc Dept ED 1.102:
Number N21. Environmental indicators, preliminary set,
TD 193.2 E58 1991. Main economic
indicators, HC 10 O68 – latest in
reference, earlier in Main collection. Main Science and Technology
Indicators, Q172.5 S34 M35, latest
in Reference, earlier in Main Collection. OECD Economic Surveys,
HC 186 O3. Society at a glance: OECD
Social Indicators Book. Ask at Reference Desk. This Organization also
publishes books on related topics, consult Voyager for other publications
which the BSU Library owns.
- IMF (International Monetary Fund)
Balance of Payments Statistics. HF 1014 I5;
published monthly with an annual Cumulation, and, further Cumulation for
multi-year periods of time; most recent in reference, earlier in main
collection. Direction of Trade Statistics,
HF 91 I66, as above, published monthly with cumulative
supplements. Most recent in Reference, earlier in main collection. Also
publishes books on a variety of topics consult Voyager for other
publications which the BSU Library owns.
- World Bank
World Bank annual report, HG 3881 W585a,
latest in reference, earlier in main collection. World debt tables,
HJ 8899 .W672, issued in irregular
cumulations in paper and CD-ROM. World development indicators,
HC 59.15 W656, recent issues in
reference, earlier in main. World development
report, HC 59.7 W659, latest issues
in reference, earlier in main. This organization publishes both independent
and serial titles, consult Voyager for other publications which the BSU
Library owns.
- UN (United Nations)
Statistical Yearbook. HA 12.5 U63,
recent issues in reference, earlier in main. Statistical Yearbook for
Asia and the Far East, HC 411 U5,
recent issues in reference, earlier in main. Trade Yearbook [of the Food
and Agriculture Organization], HD 9000.4 F58,
recent issues in reference, earlier in main. Yearbook of construction
statistics, HD 9750.4 Y4 recent
issues in reference, earlier in main. Yearbook of Industrial Statistics,
HC 59 U5 recent issues in reference,
earlier in main. Yearbook of National Accounts Statistics [U N
Statistical Office] HC 79 I5 U53
recent issues in reference, earlier in main. Yearbook of the United
Nations, JX 1977 A37 Y4 recent
issues in reference, earlier in main. Yearbook of World Energy Statistics,
HD 9502 A2 U53 recent in reference
earlier in main. Yearbook on Human Rights JC
571 U4 recent in reference, earlier in main.
- UNESCO (United Nations Educational,
Scientific and Cultural Organization)
International yearbook of Education L101 A2
A63 recent in reference, earlier in main. Statistical Yearbook
AZ361 U45 recent in reference, earlier
in main. UNESCO Yearbook on Peace and Conflict Studies
JX 1904.5 U52 recent in reference
earlier in main.
- Do not overlook publications of the U. S.
Federal Government such as those by the Bureau of Labor Statistics,
Bureau of the Census and the Joint Economic Committee of the
[Federal] Congress.
- Other important organizations to the study
of economics include the World Trade Organization {GATT}, The Bookings
Institute, the American Enterprise Institute, the Rand Institute, the Hoover
Institution, and similar “think tank” bodies, to locate their
publication use Voyager.

Web Resources
This is a highly selective list of web resources
and should not be used as a substitute for your own, more specific research
needs.
-
Boise State University Department of
Economics
College of Business and Economics
Writing Style Guide
-
American Economics Association
Excellent site to begin one's quest for
information about the profession and its activities. Some scholarship
information may be found here also.
-
Berkeley Law and Economics Working
Papers
Maintained by the John M. Olin Foundation Program in Law, Economics and
Institutions by the University of California, Berkeley School of Law.
Current and past issues are available, a valuable collection of research
papers.
-
Biographical
information about recent past winners of the Nobel Prize in Economics,
(which is officially titled “Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in
Memory of Alfred Nobel”)
-
Brookings Institution
Links to several of their research publications; news notes; social,
political and economic concerns.
-
Dr. T’s EconLinks
This commercial site carries news notes on topics
of current interest in the fields of economics, finance and business. It is
international in its coverage and updated frequently. A stunning array of
links is included in this searchable site.
-
EH stands for Economic History
An impressive collection of conference proceedings, news notes, book reviews
and research papers as well as links is found on this page. Check the site
map for details.
-
Economic Policy Institute for Research and ideas for Working People
Personal economic and fiscal information. Updated frequently.
-
Economics Teaching
Materials
Maintained by the University of Omaha this site has teaching
materials, plans and curriculum for the teaching of economics Kindergarten
through high school. Very useful for those who are, or are planning to teach
economics in schools or at home.
-
FindLaw
Site is one familiar to many who seek information
about laws, legislation both of the US, the individual states, and foreign
countries. This site references the index to their encyclopedia which
contains good coverage of economics.
-
Institute of
Industrial Relations of the University of California, Berkeley
Links to other web resources and to the Institute’s research publications.
Comprehensive non-judgmental site.
-
International Economic
Development Council
Links, directories, conference schedules abound, for the professional.
-
International Monetary Fund
Updated regularly, includes links to several of the organization’s
publications. The BSU Library receives several publications from this
organization in paper form.
-
Rand Organization
The Rand Corporation is one of this country's leading "think tank"
organizations.
-
Social Sciences
A general Social Sciences site, with sub-pages for economics, it
generally carries articles which are critical of organizations such as the
World Trade Organization/GATT. Updated frequently.
-
Statistics Canada
Large and productive agency of the Canadian
National Government. Many of its publications deal with finance, taxation
and economics and are available full-text, on-line through this page. The
BSU Library receives some of these publications in either/or paper and
electronic format, search in Voyager or ask for assistance at the reference
desk if you’d like to pursue any of them.
-
(US) Federal Reserve
Bank
Information about the Bank, its activities and
publications may be found here.
-
World Development
Report, 2003
The BSU Library also receives this report in paper format (HG 3881 W585a)
Other World Bank publications are searchable from this site.

|