|
| |
Dispute
Resolution Research Assistance
Ask a Librarian
There are a variety of ways to get help from a librarian. You can come see us in
person, call us, email us, or chat with us via our new online answerXpress
service.
- Visit the Library
Between the Business Building and Hemingway Center, we encourage you to come
to the library and talk to a librarian in person.
- Call Us
You are welcome to call a reference librarian at 208 426-3301.
- Email Us
We invite you to email us at
refquest@boisestate.edu. A
reference librarian will reply to your email within 24 hours, Monday-Friday.
- answerXpress
Live, online help from librarians is now available to the Boise State
community 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from your computer through our
www.answerXpress.com service.

Article Indexes & Databases
All databases are available both on
campus and remotely, unless otherwise indicated. You will need to supply your
BroncoWeb ID and password to access these resources off campus. As with
the subject encyclopedia, specialized indexes will have articles relating to
that aspect of dispute resolution or mediation; therefore, begin with the
indexes that most closely relate to your field or interest. If you are uncertain
which indexes to use, begin with the general indexes Academic OneFile.
Following are some subject terms and/or keywords
that are useful:
Dispute resolution
Mediation
Conflict resolution
Conflict management
Negotiation
Interpersonal conflict
Start here:
Interdisciplinary
-
Academic OneFile
-
ArticleFirst,
1990 to present (First Search)
Indexes 13,500 journals including medical sciences.
-
CQ Researcher
-
Expanded Academic ASAP
-
Ingenta
-
Google Scholar
-
Readers Guide Abstracts,
1983-
Abstracts from 1984- [print from 1900- ] general index – popular magazines.
-
Alternative Press Index,
1991-current
Indexes journals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic,
political and social change. Over 440 titles, including 290 currently
published sources, are indexed in the database.
-
Contemporary Women’s
Issues, 1992-
Global information on women in over 150 countries; books, journals,
newsletters, research reports, from non-profits, government and
international agencies.
-
InfoTrac Diversity
Business
Communication
-
ComAbstracts
Abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional
literature of the communication(s) field. Index created and maintained by
the Communication Institute of Online Scholarship.
-
Communication & Mass
Media Complete
Areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with
the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the
fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly
produced by the National Communication Association (NCA) referred to as
Matlon above), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by
Pennsylvania State University).
-
Communication Studies
-
InfoTrac Communication
Education
-
Education
-
Education Full Text
Indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from
English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States
and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in
1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January
1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.Coverage includes 79
journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERIC’s CIJE. – Use for mediation
in the classroom, mediation between parents and teachers, etc.
-
ERIC (U.S. Dept. of Education)
ERIC via FirstSearch (Education),
1966-current
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the
Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education,
produces the database of journal and non-journal education literature. The
ERIC Web site searches the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1
million citations going back to 1966. Albertsons Library has the microfiche
collection of ERIC documents (those with ED numbers) from 1966-2003.
Social Sciences
-
Psychology Fulltext
-
PsycINFO (Psychology),
1887 to present
Article summaries from worldwide journals, book chapters, books, and
dissertations in psychology, nursing, education, psychiatry, and related
subjects.
-
Social Sciences Citation Index
-
Social Services Abstracts
-
Social Work Abstracts,
1977-
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., covers social
work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child
and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community
organization, and more. Useful for those in social work and others working
in public agencies.
-
Sociological Abstracts,
1963 to current; abstracts since 1974
Abstracts journal articles, books, and published papers presented at state
and national meetings.
-
Sociology
-
Worldwide political science abstracts,
1975-
Mediation in the public sphere.
Legal
-
LegalTrac
-
LexisNexis Government Periodicals
Index
Index to periodicals published by agencies of the U.S. government; use for
articles related to dispute resolution and mediation in a variety of
situations and disciplines.
-
Index to Legal
Periodicals & Books, 1981-
Covers legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organs, law
reviews, and government publications originating in the United States,
Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. Use for
mediation in a legal context.
-
ThomasNet
-
WestLaw
This service limited to Boise
State University Faculty, Staff, and Students ONLY, BroncoWeb authentication
required at all times and places.
Print
- Communication Abstracts, 1978-
Useful for interpersonal communication; indexes books and periodicals.

Periodicals
To
determine the library's holdings for each of the journal publications found in
the indexes, go to Albertsons Library
Journals List
and then enter the journal name in the search box.

Reference Books
The following books are
located in the reference section of the library and are useful for providing
brief, introductory information on a given topic. For more detailed
information, go to the
Library's catalog or to the
Library's Indexes to Journals and Databases.
Bibliographies
- Conflict and culture :
a literature review and bibliography
ref HM136 .D86 1992
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/Handbooks
- Dictionary of conflict
resolution
ref KF9085.A68 D53 1999
-
Electronic
Encyclopedia of Communication
Searchable database and a site on interpersonal conflict.
- Encyclopedia of
conflict resolution
ref HM136 .B783 1997
- Encyclopedia of
Sociology, 5 vols.
Use the index to find articles on “dispute resolution”, “conflict
management”, etc.
ref HM425 .E5 2000
- Encyclopedia of
Violence, Peace & Conflict, 3 vols.
Use the index to find articles on “dispute resolution”, “conflict
management”, “conflict resolution”, etc.
ref HM1116 .E53 1999
- Handbook of Dispute Resolution
ref KF9084.H36
- International Encyclopedia of Social &
Behavioral Sciences
ref H41.I58 2001
- Many specialized subject
encyclopedias also have articles on conflict resolution or mediation that
are specific to the discipline.
Examples:
Encyclopedia of Social
Work
ref HV35.S6
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
ref HV6017.E52 2002
Encyclopedia of Higher Education
ref LB15.E49 1992

Web Resources
This is a highly selective list of web resources
and should not be used as a substitute for your own, more specific research
needs.

|