|
| |
Canadian
Studies Resources
Ask a Librarian
There are a variety of ways to get help from a librarian. You can come see us in
person, call us, email us, or chat with us via our new online answerXpress
service.
- Visit the Library
Between the Business Building and Hemingway Center, we encourage you to come
to the library and talk to a librarian in person.
- Call Us
You are welcome to call a reference librarian at 208 426-3301.
- Email Us
We invite you to email us at
refquest@boisestate.edu. A
reference librarian will reply to your email within 24 hours, Monday-Friday.
- answerXpress
Live, online help from librarians is now available to the Boise State
community 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from your computer through our
www.answerXpress.com service.

Article Indexes & Databases
All databases are available, both on
campus and remotely, unless otherwise indicated. You will need to supply your BroncoWeb ID and password to access these resources off campus.
-
America: History and
Life
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and
dissertations about the history of Canada and the US. A companion
publication for “the rest of the world” is
Historical Abstracts.
-
Anthropological Index
Online
Anthropology and ethnology, including of North America
-
Essay and General
Literature Index
An index which analyses the contents of books of essays on many subjects;
the emphasis is on philosophy and literary topics, but other topics are also
included.
-
GeoRef
Geology from around the world.
-
MLA Bibliography
Indexes periodicals, dissertations, and conference proceedings on the topics
of Language, Literature, Linguistics, and Folklore.
-
Music Index Online
Music, from no matter where.
-
PAIS (Public Affairs
Information Index)
Covers topics of current interest and debate, including foreign relations,
public policy and politics.
-
PsychInfo
Psychology, theoretical and applied, Educational psychology, and other
sub-specialties; this is a
comprehensive abstracting source for the fields.
-
Sociology Abstracts
The entire range of sociology; emphasis is on the developed world.

Periodicals
To
determine the library's holdings for each of the following publications, click
on the journal title, and then enter the journal name in the search box.
Recent issues are shelved alphabetically by
titles on the first floor of the library, or are available on-line. Old issues
are shelved on one of the upper floors by call number, or in the microforms area
on the first floor, or are available full-text in an on-line format.
There are far too many Canadian Related Titles to provide a comprehensive list
here.
General interest periodicals
Business, Politics,
International Relations & Economics
Education, Psychology
and Society
Literature, languages
& the Arts
Mathematics, Geography,
Health, Sciences & technology

Reference Books
The following books are
located in the reference section of the library and are useful for providing
brief, introductory information on a given topic. For more detailed
information, go to the
Library's catalog or to the
Library's Indexes to Journals and Databases.
- Canada: a reader’s
guide, basic and supplementary volumes
Annotated bibliographic guide to books dealing with general history, literature,
and political history of Canada. Updated frequently.
ref Z1365 S46
- Canadian Encyclopedia
(4 volumes)
Mostly brief entries identify places, people, and other topics which are
Canadian related. An on-line resource updated frequently is found at:
www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com/ At that point one may select
whether to view the English or the French language version of this on-line
encyclopedia.
ref F 1006 C35 1988
- Canadian Environment
Directory
Directory of companies and agencies involved with environmental issues in
Canada.
ref TD 171.5 C2 C36
- Canadian Official
Publications (Bishop, 1981)
Dated but useful annotated bibliography of official governmental
publications.
ref J 103 B5
- Canadian Who’s Who
Brief biographic identification of well-known Canadians.
F 1033 C23
- Concise Gazetteer of
Canada (Repertoire toponymique concis du Canada)
Provides coordinates but not description or explanation of the names of
places within Canada.
ref F 1004 C66 1997
- Corpus Almanac and
Canadian Sourcebook (an annual publication)
Almanac of importance to the study of Canadian topics.
ref F1004.7 M3
- Encyclopedia of
Canada’s Peoples
Very complete descriptions of kinship, family, and history of various native
and immigrant populations found in Canada.
ref F 1006 E53 1999
- Reader’s Guide to
Canadian History
Comprehensive guide to the history literature of Canada and its
provinces and territories.
ref F 1026 R4
- Reader’s guide to the
Canadian novel (Moss, 1987)
For both the casual reader and student who is seeking guidance about “what
to read next”.
ref PR 9192.2 M62 1987

Web Resources
This is a selective list of web resources
and should not be used as a substitute for your own, more specific research
needs.
Because Canada is bilingual
(French/English), Canadian websites will frequently direct the user to select
a language.
-
Athletics Canada –
Athletisme Canada
-
Canada e-book
Text, graphics and analytical descriptions of Canada – its land, people,
government and economy.
-
Canada – the National
Government’s Official Web Site
Many full text documents are linked from this site.
-
Canada Heirloom Series
History from early explorers to the development of the present culture is
included in this excellent collection of documents.
-
Canadian Encyclopedia
-
Canadian Newspapers on
Microform held by National Library of Canada
For the researcher.
-
Citizenship and
Immigration to Canada
-
City and Town
Useful for general information and brief history and descriptions of the
places included, not as complete as one would hope.
-
Culture Canada
Wide-ranging descriptions of various aspects of culture in Canada, an
official National government site.
-
Dictionary of Canadian
Biography online
This site is being “phased in” by time period, beginning with the earliest
known. One may either search by name or browse in alphabetic order.
-
Early Canadiana Online
From the website: This site "...represents a
significant source of primary materials on a wide range of topics from the
16th century to 1920."
Approximately half of this database is freely available.
-
Electronic Collection,
A Virtual Collection of Monographs and Periodicals
This is an especially rich collection of on-line resources relating to all
aspects of Canada.
-
Encyclopedia of Music
in Canada – Encyclopedie de la musique au Canada
All types of music are included.
-
Globe and Mail
One of the two “national newspapers” of Canada, the other being the National
Post.
-
Hinterland Who’s Who
A charming website for information about wildlife in Canada – not the
Saturday night variety, the fauna.
-
Library and Archives
Canada
The opening page contains both a search feature and links to various
collections within the National Library and the National Archives of Canada.
-
Our Roots
A rich treatment of the history of Canada as a whole and of its various
peoples and places.
-
National Post
One of the two “national newspapers” of Canada, the other being the
Globe and Mail.
-
National Research
Council of Canada
Current Scientific research projects, links to related sites, and to the
Council’s own archive.
-
Natural Resources
Canada
Environmental concerns such as natural resource management are included
here.
-
Pathfinders &
Passageways; the Exploration of Canada
Another of the National Library and Archives projects this site contains
full text sources of the exploration of Canada from pre-historic times to
the present.
-
Portrait Gallery of
Canada
Since this is a graphic intensive site it is slow to load, the patient
person will find reproductions of paintings, photographs and line drawings.
-
Publications and
Reports [of the National Government]
A searchable site for Governmental publications. An excellent beginning
place to discover primary sources.
-
Statistics Canada
This bureau publishes the largest amount of material of the National
Government of Canada, this site provides an index of those publications as
well as leading the user to the full text of many of them.

|