|
| |
Civil Engineering 280
Engineering
Failures | Biographies
Welcome to the web page for
resources useful for CE280 projects, compiled by Beth Brin,
Reference Librarian at
Albertsons Library, Boise State University. On these pages you will
find basic sources of information for civil engineering biographies and
engineering failures, both print and on-line.
Books:
Engineering Failures,
Biographies,
|
Periodicals
Article Indexes:
General and Technical,
Biographical
Web Resources:
Engineering Failures,
Biographies
Technical Reports
Reference and Other Books:
Engineering Failures,
Biographies
Engineering Failures When searching the
Library Catalog
(Find... Books, e-Books, Media on
the Library's Home Page),
use a Basic Search/ Subject Keyword
search with the following, or similar, subject headings. Note: to find if there
is a book devoted to a specific disaster, look for the structure (Tacoma
Narrows) as a subject.
Examples of Subject Headings
Building Failures Dam Failures Disasters – Case Studies Disasters – Bibliography Structural Failures System Failures (Engineering) – Case Studies Name of structure that failed
examples for specific
failures – Teton Dam Tacoma Narrows
Selected Books
Use these books to identify specific
disasters. Some include information on the disaster, some include references to
other material, and some include both. If there is a ref at the beginning
of the call number, those books will be located on the first floor of the
Library, in the reference collection. To find an article in a magazine, search
one or more of the indexes listed in the Article Indexes section.
- Herring, Susan Davis. From the Titanic to the Challenger : an
annotated bibliography on technological failures of the twentieth century.
Good for browsing a list of failures in categories from aircraft to
submarines. Some categories include bridges, dams, commercial & residential
structures with citations to further reading. TA169.5 .H47 1989
- Ross, Steven S. Construction disasters : design failures, causes, and
prevention .
Reprinted news from the Engineering News-Record with introductions and
grouped into categories. TA656 .R67 1984
- Wearne, Phillip. Collapse : when buildings fall down.
Several cases of failure are examined in a journalistic style.
TA656 .W415 2000
- When technology fails : significant technological disasters, accidents,
and failures of the twentieth century
. A lengthy compilation with descriptions and references to news reports for
each event.
ref
TA169.5 .W44 1994
Back to the top
Biographies When searching the
Library Catalog
(Find... Books, e-Books, Media),
use a Basic Search/ Subject Keyword
search with the following, or similar,
subject headings. Note: to find if there
is a book in the Library about a specific person, search Voyager with the
person’s name as the subject.
Examples of Subject Headings
Civil Engineers – Biography Civil Engineers – United States – Biography Engineers – Biography Last Name, First Name
examples for individuals–
Eads, James Buchanan Brunel, Isambard Kingdom
Selected Books
These books will help identify the names
of well-known civil engineers, and provide some information about each. If there
is a ref at the beginning of the call number, those books will be located
on the first floor of the Library, in the reference collection. To find an
article in a magazine, search one or more of the indexes listed in the Article
Indexes section.
- Great engineers and pioneers in technology
. (v. 1. From antiquity through the Industrial Revolution.) Covers engineering within historical periods, with biographies of key
engineers. ref TA139 .G7 1981
A biographical dictionary of civil engineers in Great Britain and
Ireland.
Contains biographical information on civil
engineers in Great Britain and Ireland from 1500 to1830.
ref TA139 .B55 2002McGraw-Hill modern scientists and engineers. 3 v. Volume 3, Field Index (pp. 375-385) includes a listing of those whose
field is civil engineering; other fields of engineering are also listed. The
Analytical Index (pp. 388-451) includes names and subjects. Q141 .M15 1980
Notable twentieth-century scientists. 4 v. + supplement. Field of Specialization Index includes Civil Engineering and Structural
Engineering. ref Q141 .N73 1995
Petroski, Henry. Engineers of dreams : great bridge builders and the
spanning of America. There are separate chapters on five well-known bridge builders.
TG23 .P47 1995
Back to the top
Periodicals
Use an article index to find an article
that has been published, then use the
Journals
Titles database to determine if the Library
has the newspaper, magazine, or journal in which that article is located, and
during the appropriate time period.
Article Indexes and Databases:
General and Technical Articles,
Biographical
General and Technical Article Indexes
These indexes cover newspapers, magazines and journals, some of which will
have articles about specific people or engineering failures. Some cover
newspapers and more general magazines, others more technical content. Search in
the Journal
Titles
(Find... Journal Titles on the Library Home Page) to find if the newspaper, magazine or journal is available.
-
Academic Search Premier
(selectively from
1975-current)
This index covers many magazines and journals, including ASCE journals.
Search for a specific person or a specific engineering failure.
-
Applied Science and Technology Index
(1983-current) This index covers many technical magazines and journals. Search for a
specific person or a specific engineering failure. You can also search for
biographies using the “Article Type” of biography (type biography in the
text box and select Article Type Phrase from the drop-down menu next to the
text box), and combine that search with the discipline of interest such as
“Civil Engineers” or “Environmental Engineers”. The print version is
available from 1958-2000 at TA 1 .I5, with an earlier title, Industrial Arts
Index, available 1913-1957, with some missing issues.
-
Compendex
& Inspec
(Compendex: 1970-current, Inspec:
1898-current) Best used for research articles, this index will also cover some
news-related stories in some of the journals covered. -
Historical Los Angeles Times
(1881-1986)
Historical New York Times (1851-2004)
Search for historical newspaper articles
about events or people in these two resources. This search is especially
useful for topics prior to the 1970-1980 time period when many
electronic indexes begin coverage. If needed, you can limit by a date
range. These files are full-text searching so it is important for your
search terms to be very specific. Use “quotations marks” for phrase
searching or name searching. -
National Newspapers
(early 1990s-current)
Use this index for articles in newspapers like the New York Times and
the Los Angeles Times.
-
Reader’s Guide Full-Text (with RG Retrospective)
(1890-current)
Popular magazines like Time and Newsweek are indexed here, and articles
back to 1890 are referenced. There is some
full-text but the results will predominantly
contain only information regarding where the
article was published.
Biographical Indexes
These indexes focus on sources that
include information about people. The biographical information might be within a
reference book, or in a magazine.
Use this index to search the contents of reference books for a specific
person. Then search the
Library Catalog (Find... Books,
e-Books, Media) to determine if the Library has the book listed.
Biography index
(1984-current) Use this index to search magazines and books for a specific person.
Search in the Journals
Titles database to find if the magazine is available. Search in
the Library
Catalog to find if the book is in the Library. The
print version is available from 1946-August 2000 at index CT214 .B5, in the
reference area.
Back to the top
Web Resources:
Engineering Failures,
Biographies
Engineering Failures
Web Resources
These websites will list selected
failures, sometimes linking to articles or other textual information about the
failure.
SUNY StonyBrook, Materials Science
Note the links to info on specific disasters at the bottom of the page
University of British Columbia
Wikipedia, Category: Engineering failures
This category lists failures that have an entry in the Wikipedia.
Biographies
Web Resources
then select
Notable Engineers
Wikipedia, Category: Civil Engineers
Engineering Timelines
Click on the Explore Who icon at the top; this
site has a British focus
Encyclopaedia of British History: Scientists and Engineers
Scroll down the page to the alphabetical
listing.
National Inventors Hall of Fame
Search page for people listed in the
National Inventors Hall of Fame, with brief notes on their invention.
4000 Years of Women in Science
Scroll down to the Engineer section
Back to the top
Technical Reports
The investigation of an engineering failure often
results in a written report, especially if a U.S. government agency was involved
in the investigation. There are some specialized databases for
searching technical reports; most focus on government agency publications or
government funded research. Typically, newer documents have been made
available online, but some technical report materials can be difficult to
identify or to obtain.
Technical reports databases are listed on the
Engineering Subject Guide.
Also useful is the
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, a listing of government agency
publications since 1976. Some titles are online; the Boise State
University Albertsons Library also has some of these government documents in
print or microfiche. If a title is not found in the
Library Catalog, ask for
further assistance from the Albertsons Library reference services.
Page Creator:
Beth Brin,
208-426-3136 Albertsons Library, Boise State University.
This page last modified:
02/22/08 09:50 AM http://library.boisestate.edu/reference/subjectguides/CE280.htm
|