|
| |
Citing Print and
Electronic Documents
APA Style
This guide is intended as a general
introduction to citing sources using the bibliographic style established by
the American Psychological Association (APA). For more complete details, see
the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American
Psychological Association ref BF76.7 .P83 2001.
Note that the manual includes essential information on manuscript
preparation (e.g., margins, use of the passive voice), creating figures and
tables, and ethics.
In-Text Citations: General
Guidelines
Format of the citation:
- Provide the author's last name, year, and
page number (or location information, for electronic sources) in
parentheses (Smith, 2003, p. 25).
- But... do not repeat information you have
already included in your text. For example, if you use the author's name
in your text, do not also include it in the citation.
- If paraphrasing someone else's text or
ideas, page numbers or location references are not required.
Location references in electronic sources:
- If paragraph numbers are visible, cite the
paragraph number (Smith, 2003, ¶ 8).
- If the document is divided into sections,
cite the section heading, followed by the paragraph number (Smith, 2003,
Conclusion section, ¶ 2).
- If no paragraph numbers or section
headings are visible, omit the location reference.
- You can use the abbreviation para. instead
of the ¶ symbol when referring to paragraph numbers.
In-Text Citations: Text
Sample
Note: In an
APA style manuscript, the text below would be double-spaced, with no extra
space between paragraphs. But because of the limitations of HTML, that's
difficult to show here.
The custom of
citing references – that is, providing a record of the sources you have used
for your research – is a form of professional honesty and courtesy that is
based on a regard for the responsibilities that writers have to readers and
to other writers to indicate when they have used someone else's ideas or
words.
Citing sources
also strengthens the authority of your work, by demonstrating that you have
considered others' opinions and ideas in forming your own. In addition, it
gives the the reader valuable information, indicating where he or she may go
to get further information on that subject; for many researchers, the list
of cited references at the end of a relevant article or book is the single
most valuable item they can come across in their research.
Accuracy in citing
references is highly regarded, and essential in helping others locate the
materials you used in your research. Consider the following, from the
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed.:
Because one
purpose of listing references is to enable readers to retrieve and use the
sources, reference data must be correct and complete.... Authors are
responsible for all information in their reference lists. Accurately
prepared references help establish your credibility as a careful researcher.
An inaccurate or incomplete reference "will stand in print as an annoyance
to future investigators and a monument to the writer's carelessness"
(Bruner, 1942, p. 68). (p. 216)
Because of the
importance of citing references, the scholarly community has agreed on
several standards – found in style manuals – to use when citing a reference
or compiling a bibliography. Many different styles exist; the following list
represents the most commonly used or prominent styles.
References
Publication Manual of the American
Psychological Association (2nd ed.). (2001). Washington, DC: American
Psychological Association.
References: General
Guidelines
- Items are presented in alphabetical order
by the first author's last name, or, if no author is listed, by the first
element of the citation (generally the title).
- Use hanging indents.
- If using a typewriter, use underlining to
represent italicized text, such as titles. Otherwise, use italics.
- During your research, develop a consistent
system for noting bibliographic information (author, title, date,
publisher, source, page numbers) and keep it with your notes or copies of
the source material you used.
- Always consult your
professor/department/publisher for specific requirements.
Sample List of
References
Note: In an
APA style manuscript, the text below would be double-spaced, with no extra
space between paragraphs. But because of the limitations of HTML, that's
difficult to show here.
|
Citation Example |
Type of Citation |
|
Bankes, P., Boss, J., Cochran, A., Duemer,
L., McCrary, J., & Salazar, D. (2001). Censorship and restraint: Lessons
learned from the Catalyst. College Student Journal, 35,
335-338. Retrieved August 14, 2003, from Ebsco Academic Search Elite
database. |
Journal article retrieved from an electronic
database, 6 or fewer authors, continuous pagination |
|
Chafee, Z., Jr. (1962). Freedom of speech
and press. In W. S. Dowden & T. N. Marsh (Eds.), The heritage of
freedom: Essays on the rights of free men (pp. 140-156). New York:
Harper. |
Chapter in an edited book |
|
Dennis, E. E., & Vanden Heuvel, J. (1991).
Emerging voices: East European media in transition: A report of the
Gannett Foundation Task Force on Press Freedom in Eastern Europe
(2nd ed.). New York: Gannett Foundation Media Center. |
Book |
|
FCC ruling to stifle debate, critics say.
(2003, June 13). The Buffalo News, p. C1. |
Newspaper article, unsigned |
|
Foerstel, H. N. (Ed.). (1997). Free
expression and censorship in America: An encyclopedia. Westport,
CT: Greenwood Press. |
Encyclopedia or dictionary |
|
Freedom of the press: Hearing before the
Subcommittee on Constitutional Rights of the Committee on the Judiciary,
Senate, 92d Cong., 1 (1972). |
Government hearing, whole hearing |
|
Hardt, H. (2000). Communication is freedom:
Karl Marx on press freedom and censorship. Javnost: The Public, 7(4),
85-99. |
Journal article, pagination restarts with
each issue |
|
Jayasekera, R. (2003, June 11). Gives with
one hand, takes away with the other. Index on Censorship.
Retrieved August 9, 2003, from
http://www.indexonline.org/news/20030611_iraq.shtml |
Article retrieved from web site |
|
Jeffords, S., & Rabinovitz, L. (Eds.).
(1994). Seeing through the media: The Persian Gulf war. New
Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press. |
Edited book |
|
Paretsky, S. (2003, June 2). The new
censorship. New Statesman, 759, 18-20. |
Magazine article |
|
Project censored. (n.d.). Retrieved
August 9, 2003, from http://www.projectcensored.org/ |
Entire web site, no date of publication |
|
Sanders, B. (Producer/Director). (1987).
Making the news fit [Motion picture]. (Available from The Cinema
Guild, 130 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016-7038) |
Film or video |
|
Solomon, N. (2000, March 15).
Self-censorship shadows new media. Message posted to news://misc.activism.progressive |
Message posted to a newsgroup |
Acknowledgement:
The text of this
document has been copied and modified with the
permission of the author,
Colleen Bell,
at the University of Oregon Libraries (5/21/04).
|